Waldemar J. Trjitzinsky Memorial Awards

Photo courtesy of the Department of Mathematics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Each year the Society selects a number of geographically distributed schools who in turn make one-time awards to beginning mathematical students to assist them in pursuit of careers in mathematics.

About this Award

The Society received a bequest from the estate of Waldemar J., Barbara G., and Juliet Trjitzinsky, the income from which is used to assist students who have declared a major in mathematics at a college or university that is an institutional member of the AMS. These funds help support students who lack adequate financial resources and who may be in danger of not completing the degree program in mathematics for financial reasons.

The amount of each scholarship is currently US$3,000, and the number of scholarships awarded each year varies.

Most Recent Award: 2018

  • Aashwin Basnet, Trinity College
  • Daniel Melesse, Trinity College
  • Claire Barrera, University of Kentucky
  • Hadley DeBrine, Hobart and William Smith Colleges
  • Luis Ruiz, California State University, Los Angeles
  • Mary Ghiloni, University of Dayton
  • Stacy Stones, Western Washington University
  • Yirong Wang, South Dakota State University

Award announcement as seen in the news release.

See previous winners

Next Award:  2020