Skip to Main Content

Mikhail Gordin Prize (AMS-EMS)

Photo courtesy of Masha Gordina
The joint AMS-EMS Mikhail Gordin Prize was established by Gordin's family to honor the memory of Mikhail Gordin and the tradition of the mathematics of Eastern Europe. It is awarded to a mathematician working in probability or dynamical systems, with preference given to early career mathematicians from or professionally connected to an Eastern European country. The recipient is chosen by a committee appointed by the EMS with AMS representation on the committee. The Gordin Prize was first awarded by the European Mathematical Society in 2018 at the International Vilnius Conference on Probability Theory and Mathematical Statistics.

About this Prize

The Mikhail Gordin Prize is awarded every four years. It consists of a cash prize of US \$4,000 and funds of US \$1,000 to cover travel costs to the awards ceremony.

Most Recent Prize: 2022

The 2022 AMS-EMS Mikhail Gordin Prize is awarded to Semyon Dyatlov for his work on quantum chaos, scattering theory and, in particular, differentiable dynamical systems.

Prize announcement as seen in the news release.

See previous winners

Next Prize:  January 2026

Nomination Period:  1 February - 31 May

Nomination Procedure:  Nominations for the Mikhail Gordin Prize should include a letter of nomination, a curriculum vitae of the nominee, and a short citation (up to 50 words) to be used in the event that the nomination is successful.

Nominate a Colleague