Skip to Main Content

Undergraduate Opportunity Awards


About these Awards

Undergraduate Opportunity Awards assist students who have declared a major in mathematics at a college or university that is an institutional member of the AMS. These funds help support students who lack adequate financial resources and who may be in danger of not completing the degree program in mathematics for financial reasons.

There is no application process for these awards. Therefore, neither individual students nor mathematics departments may apply for these scholarships. Each year the Society selects a number of geographically distributed schools from its AMS institutional members, which in turn make one-time awards to undergraduate mathematical students. The amount of each scholarship is currently $3,000, and the number of scholarships awarded each year varies.

Next Awards:  2025

Support the Undergraduate Opportunity Awards

AMS :: Waldemar J. Trjitzinsky Memorial Awards

Waldemar J. Trjitzinsky
Waldemar J. Trjitzinsky
Photo courtesy of the Department of Mathematics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Waldemar J. Trjitzinsky Memorial Awards

Read a feature story about past recipients of Trjitzinsky Awards.

Most Recent Award: 2022

California Institute of Technology: Necef Kavrut

DePaul University: Leslye Rodriguez

Middle Tennessee State University: Michael Brito

Northern Arizona University: Heather Vogler

University of Buffalo-SUNY: Mahdi Rahman

University of Central Oklahoma: Kayleigh Page

University of Louisville: Aaron Thomas

University of Texas Rio Grande Valley: Aniela Mendez

Washington & Lee University: Nevin Etter

See previous winners

AMS :: Edmund Landau Award

Edmund Landau
Edmund Landau

Edmund Landau Award

This award was created by an anonymous donor.

Most Recent Award: 2022

University of Maine, Orono: Kaia De Vries

See previous winners