Skip to Main Content

2003 Prizes and Awards

The Prizes and Awards Ceremony was once again well-attended--a testament to the high esteem the profession gives to the prizes and those who are recognized for their work. The 2003 Prizes and Awards booklet includes all of the prizes and awards given this year, along with the full citations and biographical information about each of the awardees:


Osserman after the prize ceremony The Joint Policy Board for Mathematics Communications Award was given to Robert Osserman, Professor Emeritus at Stanford University and Special Projects Director at the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute in Berkeley.

For many years, Bob Osserman has been an erudite spokesman for mathematics, communicating its charm and excitement to thousands of people from all walks of life.

Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra: Hiraku Nakajima
Levi L. Conant Prize: Nicholas Katz and Peter Sarnak
Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize: Abigail Thompson
Leroy P. Steele Prizes: Ronald L. Graham, Victor W. Guillemin, John B. Garnett, Ronald Jensen and Michael D. Morley

George David Birkhoff Prize in Applied Mathematics: John N. Mather and Charles Peskin

Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Student: Josh Greene

Association for Women in Mathematics:
Louise Hay Award for Contributions to Mathematics Educaton: Katherine Puckett Layton
Alice T. Schafer prize for Excellence in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Woman: Kate Gruher

Certificates for Meritorious Service: Karin Chess, Louise-Charlotte Kappe, Lester Lange, Larry Morley, Alvin Tinsley, Fredric Tufte
Chauvenet Prize: Thomas C. Hales
Yueh-Gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Award for Distinguished Service to Mathematics: Clarence F. Stephens
Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics: Judith Grabiner, Ranjan Roy, and Paul Zeitz

--- Annette Emerson, AMS Public Awareness Officer

More highlights of the 2003 Joint Mathematics Meetings