American Mathematical Society

My Account · My Cart · Customer Services · FAQ  

Award for Impact on the Teaching and Learning of Mathematics

This award is given annually to a mathematician (or group of mathematicians) who has made significant contributions of lasting value to mathematics education. Priorities of the award include recognition of:
(a) accomplished mathematicians who have worked directly with pre-college teachers to enhance teachers’ impact on mathematics achievement for all students, or
(b) sustainable and replicable contributions by mathematicians to improving the mathematics education of students in the first two years of college.

Award Details
The US$1,000 award is given annually. The recipient is selected by the Committee on Education.

Next Award
Spring 2015

Nomination Procedure
Letters of nomination may be submitted by one or more individuals. The letter of nomination should describe the significant contributions made by the nominee(s) and provide evidence of the impact these contributions have made on the teaching and learning of mathematics. The letter of nomination should not exceed two pages, and may include supporting documentation not to exceed three additional pages. A brief curriculum vitae for each nominee should also be included. The non-winning nominations will automatically be reconsidered, without further updating, for the awards to be presented over the next two years.  Use of the online nomination procedure is strongly encouraged, however, nominations may be submitted by email  or by postal mail to:

Award for Impact on the Teaching and Learning of Mathematics
c/o AMS Washington Office
1527 Eighteenth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
For further questions please email  or call 202-588-1100.

Most Recent Award: 2014
Paul J. Sally, Jr., of the University of Chicago was awarded the first Impact Award. Sally passed away unexpectedly on December 30, 2013, but news of the award reached him shortly before his death.  He took great pleasure in knowing that he was the first recipient of this prestigious award. Sally was the Director of Undergraduate Education in Mathematics at the University of Chicago for over thirty years, he was a leading voice in the undergraduate program.  But what truly distinguished Sally and made him an ideal recipient of the first AMS Impact Award was his work with teachers and students at the precollege level, which began in the 1960s and continued unabated until the day of his death.

About the Prize
The Award for Impact on the Teaching and Learning of Mathematics was established by the AMS Committee on Education in 2013. The endowment fund that supports the award was established in 2012 by a contribution from Kenneth I. and Mary Lou Gross in honor of their daughters Laura and Karen.

See Previous Prizes