George David Birkhoff Prize in Applied Mathematics

George David Birkhoff

The Birkhoff Prize is awarded for an outstanding contribution to applied mathematics in the highest and broadest sense.

Prize Details:
The current prize amount is \$5,000, awarded every three years to a member of AMS or SIAM.

Next Prize: January 2021

Nomination Period: 1 March – 30 June, 2020

Nomination Procedure: Nominations with supporting information should be submitted online.

Most Recent Prize: 2018 – Berndt Sturmfels received the Birkhoff Prize in 2018 for his instrumental role in creating the field of applied algebraic geometry.

About this Prize: The prize was established in 1967 in honor of Professor George David Birkhoff (pictured), with an initial endowment contributed by the Birkhoff family and subsequent additions by others. The American Mathematical Society (AMS) and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) award the Birkhoff Prize jointly.

See previous prizes

American Mathematical Society