Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Number Theory

Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Number Theory

Photo from the MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive

This Prize recognizes a notable research work in number theory that has appeared in the last six years. The work must be published in a recognized, peer-reviewed venue

About this Prize:

This prize (and the Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra) was founded in honor of Professor Frank Nelson Cole upon of his retirement from the American Mathematical Society; he served as AMS Secretary for twenty-five years and as Editor-in-Chief of the Bulletin for twenty-one years. The original fund was donated by Professor Cole from moneys presented to him on his retirement, and was augmented by contributions from members of the Society. The fund was later doubled by his son, Charles A. Cole and further supplemented by an anonymous donor.

Prize Details:
The current prize amount is $5,000 and the prize is awarded every three years

Next Prize: January 2020

Nomination Period: 1 March – 30 June, 2019

Nomination Procedure: Submit a letter of nomination, a complete bibliographic citation for the work being nominated, and a brief citation that explains why the work is important

Nominate a colleague

Most Recent Prize: Henri Darmon was awarded the 2017 Cole Prize in Number Theory for his work for his contributions to the arithmetic of elliptic curves and modular forms.

See previous prizes

American Mathematical Society