E. H. Moore Research Article Prize

E. H. Moore Research Article Prize

The Moore Prize is awarded for an outstanding research article to have appeared in one of the AMS primary research journals (namely, the Journal of the AMS, Proceedings of the AMS, Transactions of the AMS, Memoirs of the AMS, Mathematics of Computation, Electronic Journal of Conformal Geometry and Dynamics, and Electronic Journal of Representation Theory) during the six calendar years ending a full year before the meeting at which the prize is awarded.

Prize Details:
The current prize amount is $5,000, awarded every three years

Next Prize: January 2019

Nomination Period: 1 March – 30 June, 2018

Nomination Procedure: Submit a letter of nomination, a complete bibliographic citation for the work being nominated, and a brief citation that explains why the work is important.

Nominate a colleague

Most recent prize: 2016 — Caucher Birkar, Paolo Cascini, Christopher D. Hacon, and James McKernan received the 2016 AMS E. H. Moore Research Article Prize. They were honored for their article "Existence of minimal models for varieties of log general type," Journal of the AMS (2010).

About this prize: The prize was established in 2002 in honor of E. H. Moore. Among other activities, Moore founded the Chicago branch of the American Mathematical Society, served as the Society's sixth President (1901-1902), delivered the Colloquium Lectures in 1906, and founded and nurtured the Transactions of the AMS.

See previous prizes

American Mathematical Society