American Mathematical Society

My Account · My Cart · Customer Services · FAQ  

Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize in Mathematics

Ruth Lyttle SatterThe Satter Prize recognizes an outstanding contribution to mathematics research by a woman in the previous six years.

Prize Details
The US$5,000 prize is awarded every two years.

Next Prize
January 2017

Most Recent Prize: 2015

Hee Oh was awarded the 2015 Satter Prize for her fundamental contributions to the fields of dynamics on homogeneous spaces, discrete subgroups of Lie groups, and applications to number theory.

About this Prize
This prize was established in 1990 using funds donated by Joan S. Birman in memory of her sister, Ruth Lyttle Satter. Professor Birman requested that the prize be established to honor her sister's commitment to research and to encourage women in science.

See previous prizes

Photo courtesy of Joan Birman.