Waldemar J. Trjitzinsky Memorial Awards

Waldemar J. Trjitzinsky

Photo courtesy of the Department of Mathematics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

The Society received a bequest from the estate of Waldemar J., Barbara G., and Juliet Trjitzinsky, the income from which is used to assist students who have declared a major in mathematics at a college or university that is an institutional member of the AMS. These funds help support students who lack adequate financial resources and who may be in danger of not completing the degree program in mathematics for financial reasons.

Each year the Society selects a number of geographically distributed schools who in turn make one-time awards to beginning mathematical students to assist them in pursuit of careers in mathematics.

Prize Details:

The amount of each scholarship is currently \$3,000, and the number of scholarships awarded each year varies.

Next Awards: Fall 2018

Most recent awards: 2017:

  • Alexandra Cassell - Skidmore College
  • Keysha Rodriguez - Providence College
  • Eric Zarate - University of California, Riverside
  • Katherine Maza - Eastern Michigan University
  • Mary Kate Tomassi - University of Dallas
  • Destiny Faith Allain - Lamar University
  • Sabrina Garcia - St Mary's College of California

See previous prizes

American Mathematical Society