American Mathematical Society

My Account · My Cart · Customer Services · FAQ  

Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry

Oswald VeblenThe Veblen Prize is awarded in recognition of a notable research memoir in geometry or topology published in the preceding six years.

Prize Details
The current prize amount of US$5,000 is awarded every three years. To be considered, either the nominee should be a member of the Society or the memoir should have been published in a recognized North American journal.

Next Prize
January 2016

Nomination Deadline
June 30, 2015


Most Recent Prize: 2013
The 2013 Veblen Prize was awarded to Ian Agol, for his many fundamental contributions to hyperbolic geometry, 3-manifold topology, and geometric group theory and to Daniel Wise, for his deep work establishing subgroup separability (LERF) for a wide class of groups and for introducing and developing with Frédéric Haglund the theory of special cube complexes which are of fundamental importance for the topology of three-dimensional manifolds.

About the Prize
This prize was established in 1961 in memory of Professor Oswald Veblen through a fund contributed by former students and colleagues. The fund was later doubled by the widow of Professor Veblen.

See previous prizes