AMS Award for Outstanding Pi Mu Epsilon Student Paper Presentation

AMS Award for Outstanding Pi Mu Epsilon Student Paper

Seal image courtesy of Pi Mu Epsilon

The AMS sponsors annual awards that are made by Pi Mu Epsilon (PME), the national honorary mathematics society.

Prize Details:

The awards were initiated in 1989 in honor of PME's seventy-fifth anniversary. PME administers the awards and uses them to recognize the best student paper(s) presented at a PME student paper session. Beginning in 2009, the American Statistical Association joined in supporting these awards.

Next Awards: 2018

Most recent prize: The 2017 recipients were

  • Monica Busser, Youngstown State University, “Induced Representations ”
  • Brian Darrow Jr., Southern Connecticut State University, “On Decomposing the Complete Symmetric Digraph into Orientations of K4 – e”
  • Donald Fincher, Kent State University, “Approximating Nonlinear Differential Equations using the Adomian Decomposition Method”
  • Travis Howk, Hendrix College, “Newton’s Method on Rational Functions in the Complex Plane”
  • Robert Krueger, Miami University, “Hamiltonian Cycles in k-partite Graphs”
  • Christine Langer, Youngstown State University, “Surprising Nontransitive Games”
  • Britney Mazzetta, Ithaca College, “Predicting U.S. Childhood Obesity Through Mathematical Modeling”
  • Brandon Payne, Elmira College, “The Iowa Democratic Caucuses: A Mathematical Analysis of the “Vote””
  • Kiersten Potter, Marshall University, “Explicit Origami Constructions of Regular Polygons”
  • Steven Rollins, Marshall University, “Optimizing Refuse Collection Routes in Huntington, WV”
  • Slade Sanderson, Pepperdine University, “Trajectories on Homothety Surfaces”
  • Parth Sarin, Texas A&M University, “From Phylogenetics to Statistical Physics: Tensor Wiring Diagrams and the Impact of Tensors on the Sciences”
  • Sarah Seckler, Hope College, “What Bird Was That? Feature Extraction of Recorded Bird Songs for Neural Networks”
  • Callie Sleep, South Dakota State University, “Extending the Bocher-Grace Theorem to Quadrilaterals and other Polygons”
  • Erika Sweet, Santa Clara University, “4C Coding in STEM – Identifying Obstacles to Clear Scientific Writing”
  • Vincent Villalobos, University of Texas at Tyler, “Morita Equivalence for Groupoids of Directed Graphs”

See previous prizes

American Mathematical Society