AMS Announces Mass Media Fellowship Award

The American Mathematical Society (AMS) is pleased to announce that Baldur Hedinsson has been awarded its 2009 Mass Media Fellowship.  Baldur is a Ph.D. student in mathematics at Boston University.  He will be working at the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel for ten weeks over the summer under the sponsorship of the AMS. 


The Mass Media Fellowship program is organized by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and is intended to strengthen the connections between science and the media, to improve public understanding of science, and to sharpen the ability of the fellows to communicate complex scientific issues to non-specialists.  The program is available to college or university students (in their senior year, or in any graduate or post graduate level) in the natural, physical, health, engineering, computer, or social sciences or mathematics with outstanding written and oral communication skills and a strong interest in learning about the media.  It is a highly competitive program and the AMS wishes to congratulate Baldur Hedinsson on his accomplishment.

The program is in its 35th year and has supported more than 500 fellows.  A listing of previous AMS sponsored fellows is shown below.



Previous AMS Fellows:
2007 Adriana Salerno, University of Texas at Austin.  Assigned to Voice of America.  See article "My Summer at the Voice of America."  Notices of the AMS, February 2008.
2006Brie Finegold, University of California at Santa Barbara.  Assigned to the Scientific American.   See article "My Summer at Scientific American."   Notices of the AMS, January 2007.
2005Brent Deschamp, University of Wyoming.  Assigned to WOSU-AM in Columbus, OH.  See article "My Summer at National Public Radio."   Notices of the AMS, January 2006.
2004Lisa DeKeukelaere, Brown University.  Assigned to the Scientific American.   See article "My Summer at Scientific American," Notices of the AMS, January 2005.
2003: Claudia Clark, Northeastern University. Assigned to the Voice of America.   See article "A Summer at Voice of America," Notices of the AMS, April 2004.
2002: Kathy Paur, Harvard University. Assigned to the Chicago Tribune.
2001: Rafe Jones, Brown University. Assigned to Discovery Channel Online.  See article "A Summer at," Notices of the AMS, June/July 2002.
2000: Kathryn Leonard, Brown University. Assigned to Popular Science. See article "A Summer at Popular Science Magazine", Notices of the AMS, September 2001.
Mary Ann Saadi, University of Rhode Island. Assigned to Business Week.
1999: Brian Allen, Purdue University. Assigned to TIME Magazine's Washington DC bureau. See article, "A Summer at Time Magazine", Notices of the AMS, October 2000.
1998: Edouard Servan-Schreiber, University of California, Berkeley, spent the summer at National Geographic Television, Washington DC.
1997: Benjamin Stein, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, spent the summer at National Geographic Television, Washington DC.
Elizabeth Veomett, Oregon State University, spent her fellowship at Business Week, New York. See article "Experiences of AMS-AAAS Media Fellows", Liz Veomett and Ben Stein, Notices of the AMS, January 1998.

For more information on the AAAS Mass Media Science and Engineering Fellows Program, visit the AAAS website.

AMS contact for more information: Anita Benjamin, AMS Washington Office,