Skip to Main Content

Electronic Journal on Representation Theory

General Description

Principal Activities

To solicit, acquire, review, edit and publish articles in the electronic journal, Representation Theory.

Further Information

The chair of the committee acts as Managing Editor and selects or nominates editors in consultation with the EBC. (Note: editors require confirmation from the EBC but do not require Council approval.)

Miscellaneous Information

This committee conducts its business by email and teleconference; travel is not required.
Editors normally serve no more than two consecutive terms.

Note to the Chair

Committee chairs should be informed, at the beginning of each fiscal period, of the budget of their committees and cautioned to remain within the budget. Such items as travel reimbursement, accommodations, and meals for guests of any kind fall within these budgets.

For the purpose of archiving the committee activities, the Secretary maintains a central file system for archiving committee records. Committee Chairs are asked to submit committee records on yearly basis. Chairs can submit material at their discretion, and some materials that they may wish to provide are meeting minutes, agenda, and emails. Confidential material should be noted, so that it can be handled in a confidential manner.


From the January 1996 Council minutes:

“…the Council authorizes creation of three initial electronic journals:
  1. The Electronic Journal of Representation Theory.
  2. The Electronic Journal of Conformal Dynamics.
  3. The Electronic Journal of Geometric Methods in Differential Equations.”

(It was stated and implicitly agreed that the managing editors and editorial boards would be appointed by the President based on recommendations from the Editorial Boards Committee. Terms would be the usual three years.)

In January 2007, the Council approved CPub's recommendation "that all terms for editors appointed by the EBC be four (4) years in length, and that the normal number of terms for serving members of an editorial committee be no more than two (2)"

Past Members

A list of current and past members is available here: