AMS Presidents: A Timeline

AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

Arthur Byron Coble


22. Arthur Byron Coble (1878-1966)

President, 1933-1934

Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland, 1902

Coble came to the University of Illinois in 1918 and (except for the year 1927-28 spent at his alma mater Johns Hopkins) remained there. His research concerned finite geometries and the group theory related to them, Cremona transformations associated with the Galois theory of equations, and the relations between hyperelliptic theta functions, irrational binary invariants, the Weddle surface and the Kummer surface. Coble was a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

   For more information:



AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

American Mathematical Society