AMS Presidents: A Timeline

AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

Nathan Jacobson


41. Nathan Jacobson (1910-1999)

President 1971-1972

Ph.D. Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey, 1934

Jacobson was born in Warsaw. After he came to the U.S. he received his A.B. from the University of Alabama (1930). His principal academic appointment was at Yale University, from 1947 until his retirement in 1981. His textbooks on algebra served several generations of students. Jacobson was awarded the AMS Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement in 1998 for his research in ring theory, Lie algebras, and Jordan algebras, and for his contributions to teaching, exposition, and the mathematical profession. Jacobson was a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

   For more information:



AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

American Mathematical Society