AMS Presidents: A Timeline

AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

Henry Seely White


9. Henry Seely White (1861-1943)

President, 1907-1908

Ph.D. University of Göttingen, Germany, 1891

White did research in the fields of theory of invariants, geometry of curves and surfaces, special types of (3,3) correspondences, algebraic curves and twisted curves of low orders, homeomorphic sets of lines in a plane, and relativity in mechanics. White was a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

   For more information:



AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

American Mathematical Society