grey scale of basket weave with text: Towards a Fully Inclusive Mathematics Profession


Statement from the Task Force: March 2021

AMS-Task-Force-cov-graphicThe Task Force on Understanding and Documenting the Historical Role of the AMS in Racial Discrimination has completed its work and has submitted its final report to AMS governance. We will continue to communicate about actions that emerge from the recommendations in this report. Meanwhile, you may read the report here. Task Force members thank the mathematicians who graciously shared their time through interviews, gave us feedback through this webpage, or directly reached out to us.

–Kasso Okoudjou and Francis Su, co-chairs



We'd like to hear from you!

The AMS wants to hear your thoughts and ideas related to this report and our steps moving forward. Thank you! Comments are sent to AMS leadership


Task Force Background

As part of the AMS participating in #ShutDownSTEM in June 2020, the governance established a task force of dedicated and diverse mathematicians to identify, engage and address issues past and present related to equality, racial justice and inclusivity.

Over the next few months, the task force listened to and sought input from the mathematics community, particularly Black mathematicians. Meanwhile, the AMS created a new fund to support its programs to address issues of equity and inclusion in the mathematics community. In addition, governance applied a portion of the endowment to establish a new fellowship to support the scholarship of Black mathematicians.

In March 2021, the task force submitted a final draft of its report to AMS governance. That report details the historical role of the AMS in racial discrimination; and recommends actions for the AMS to take to rectify systemic inequities in the mathematics community.


  •   May 2021

    • The AMS Claytor-Gilmer Fellowship is established.
    • AMS selected as one of four professional societies to participate in pilot project "AAAS Self-Assessment and Action Planning," part of the AAAS SEA Change initiative. AMS participation will run October 2021-February 2022. Deliverables include an action plan around equity, diversity, and inclusion issues.
  •   April-May 2021

    Discussion and Planning

    • AMS Council and Board of Trustees discuss report and work on action plan
    • Task Force members present report across various channels
    • AMS staff read and discuss report
  •   March 2021

    • Task Force delivers report to AMS Council and to public
  •   January 2021

    • AMS Council formally establishes new fellowship in support of Black mathematicians
  •   Fall-Winter 2020

    • Task Force composes final report
  •   Summer-Fall 2020

    The seven-member Task Force:

    • Meets weekly to review AMS actions to understand ways the AMS has contributed to racial discrimination or an unwelcome environment;
    • interviews mathematicians, math historians, and AMS governance; and
    • gathers data and studies articles, reports, and other resources that inform about the history of racism in mathematics in general and in the AMS in particular.
  •   June 10, 2020

    AMS participates in #ShutDownSTEM. AMS Governance:

    • Establishes Task Force on Understanding and Documenting the Historical Role of the AMS in Racial Discrimination
    • Creates 2020 Fund and sets forth plan to create fellowship in support of Black mathematicians

Task Force Members

  • Tasha R. Inniss
    Associate Provost for Research and Associate Professor of Mathematics, Spelman College
  • W. J. "Jim" Lewis
    Aaron Douglas Professor of Mathematics, University of Nebraska–Lincoln
  • Irina Mitrea
    L.H. Carnell Professor of Mathematics and Department Chair, Temple University
  • Kasso A. Okoudjou (co-chair)
    Professor of Mathematics, Tufts University
  • Adriana Salerno
    Professor of Mathematics and Department Chair, Bates College
  • Francis Su (co-chair)
    Benediktsson-Karwa Professor of Mathematics, Harvey Mudd College
  • Dylan Thurston
    Professor of Mathematics, Indiana University Bloomington