NOTES

The concluding number of volume 24 of the TRANSACTIONS OF THIS Society (December, 1922) contains the following papers: Representations of a complex point by pairs of ordered real points, by W. C. Graustein; Non-loxodromic substitutions and groups in n dimensions, by E. B. Van Vleck; Birational transformations simplifying singularities of algebraic curves, by G. A. Bliss; A symbolic theory of formal modular covariants, by Olive C. Hazlett; On the mean-value theorem corresponding to a given linear homogeneous differential equation, by Georg Pólya. The third number of volume 25 of the TRANSACTIONS (July, 1923) contains: Discontinuous boundary conditions and the Dirichlet problem, by Norbert Wiener; A type of differential system containing a parameter, by F. H. Murray; On a remarkable class of entire functions, by J. I. Hutchinson; Note on an ambiguous case of approximation, by Dunham Jackson; Expansions in terms of solutions of partial differential equations. Second paper: Multiple Birkhoff series, by C. C. Camp; Circular plates of constant or variable thickness, by C. A. Garabedian; Permutable rational functions, by J. F. Ritt; On approximation by functions of given continuity, by Dunham Jackson.

The concluding number of volume 45 of the AMERICAN JOURNAL OF MATHEMATICS (October, 1923) contains: Sylow subgroups in the group of isomorphisms of prime power abelian groups, by H. A. Bender; The isodyadic quintic, by J. C. Glashan; On class number relations for bilinear forms in four variables, by E. T. Bell; Relative inclusiveness of certain definitions of summability, by D. S. Morse; Modular invariants of a binary group with composite modulus, by Constance R. Ballantine; Determination of a surface by its curvatures and spherical representation, by W. C. Graustein. The first number of volume 46 (January, 1924) contains: On the theory of numbers and generalized quaternions, by L. E. Dickson; A study of the rational involutorial transformations in space which leave a web of sextic surfaces invariant, by J. O. Osborn; On the reduction of differential parameters in terms of finite sets, with remarks concerning differential invariants of analytic transformations, by O. E. Glenn; On the isodyadic septimic equations, by J. C. Glashan.

The first International Congress for Mechanics was held at Delft, Holland, April 22–25, 1924. The congress met in three sections, for the presentation of papers on rational mechanics, theory of elasticity and rigidity, and hydro- and aerodynamics, including aviation. General sessions were also held. In connection with the International Mathematical Congress to be held in Toronto on August 11-16, the American Section of the International Mathematical Union has extended its membership as provided under the general regulations governing that body. The previous members were as follows:

The President of this Society, ex officio: O. Veblen.

The Secretary of this Society, ex officio: R. G. D. Richardson.

Other representatives of this Society: L. P. Eisenhart, E. V. Huntington, H. F. Blichfeldt.

Representative of the Mathematical Association of America: H. L. Rietz.

The additional members of the Section recently appointed to serve from March to November, 1924, are as follows:

By this Society: A. B. Coble, Arnold Dresden, L. E. Dickson, Virgil Snyder.

By the Mathematical Association of America: R. C. Archibald, E. H. Moore, J. W. Young.

By the National Academy of Sciences: E. H. Moore.

By the American Astronomical Society: E. W. Brown.

By the American Physical Society: Leigh Page.

By the American Association for the Advancement of Science: G. A. Miller.

The Section thus enlarged has elected the following persons from among its members to act as delegates to represent the United States at the quadrennial meeting of the International Mathematical Union, to be held at Toronto during the Congress: Coble, Eisenhart, Huntington, Richardson, Rietz, Snyder. The present officers of the American Section are E. V. Huntington, Chairman; H. L. Rietz, Secretary.

The Royal Society of London will celebrate, on July 10 and 11, the centenary of Lord Kelvin's birth. Sir J. J. Thomson will deliver a memorial address.

Steps are being taken to found a History of Science Society, for encouragement of the study of this subject and for the support of the journal ISIS, now edited by Dr. George Sarton. Correspondence with regard to this Society may, for the present, be addressed to Professor David Eugene Smith, 525 West 120th Street, New York City.

The gold medal of the Royal Astronomical Society has been awarded to Professor A. S. Eddington, for his work on star-streaming, on the internal constitution of a star, and on generalized relativity.

Dr. Elihu Thomson, of the General Electric Company, has received the Kelvin gold medal, which was founded in 1914 by British and American engineers and is awarded triennially by the presidents of representative British societies. Professors Niels Bohr and Albert Einstein have been elected foreign members of the Göttingen Academy of Sciences.

Announcement has been made in this BULLETIN (p. 90, Jan.-Feb., 1924) that the fellowships administered by the National Research Council for physics and chemistry had been extended to include mathematics, and that the extension to mathematics had been placed in effect at once by a supplementary action. Under this action, the following persons have been appointed to National Research Fellowships in mathematics for the academic year 1924-1925 by the Research Fellowship Board: L. M. Graves (Ph. D., Chicago, 1924), Harry Levy, (Ph. D., Princeton, 1924), J. H. Taylor (Ph. D., Chicago, 1924), J. M. Thomas (Ph. D., Pennsylvania, 1923). The following persons have been reappointed as Fellows in mathematical physics: Herman Zanstra (Ph. D., Minnesota, 1923), T. Y. Thomas (Ph. D., Princeton, 1923).

At the request of the Commission on New Types of Examination of the College Entrance Examination Board, Professor L. P. Eisenhart of Princeton University has formed a committee to report on the validity of certain statistical methods used in the investigations of the Commission. The other members of the committee are Professors R. W. Burgess, W. L. Crum, E. V. Huntington, H. H. Mitchell, H. L. Rietz, and J. H. M. Wedderburn.

Mr. W. E. Byrne, of Rennselaer Polytechnic Institute, has been awarded an American Field Service Fellowship for 1924–1925, for the study of mathematics at the University of Paris. Applications for such fellowships for 1925–1926 should reach Dr. I. L. Kandel, 525 West 120th Street, New York City, not later than December 15, 1924.

Dr. Philip Franklin, now Benjamin Peirce teaching fellow at Harvard University, has been appointed instructor in mathematics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology for the year 1924–1925.

At the University of Chicago, Associate Professor A. C. Lunn has been promoted to a full professorship of mathematics. Dr. Mayme I. Logsdon, instructor in mathematics, has recently been appointed to a deanship in the College of Science.

Dr. Pauline Sperry, instructor in mathematics at the University of California, has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

The death is announced, at the age of ninety-one years, of Gustave Eiffel, the French engineer, known for his work in aerodynamics.

Professor R. E. Wilson, of Northwestern University, died December 30, 1923, at the age of fifty-two. Professor Wilson had been a member of the American Mathematical Society since 1903.