NOTES

## NOTES

A detailed announcement has now been issued by the Organizing Committee in charge of the International Congress of Mathematicians to be held in Zurich, Switzerland, next fall (see this Bulletin, vol. 37, p. 661). The outline of the proposed program is as follows:

September 4:	8 P.M., reception.
September 5:	9 А.м., inaugural meeting.
	11–12 а.м., general lecture.
	3–6 P.M., meetings of the sections.
	Evening, concert.
September 6:	9–12 а.м., general lectures.
	Afternoon, excursions.
September 7:	9–12 А.M., general lectures.
(also 9 and 10)	3–6 P.M., meetings of the sections.
September 8:	excursions.
September 11:	4 Р.М., official reception.
September 12:	10–12 а.м., final meeting.

Professor W. B. Carver, of Cornell University, will succeed Professor W. H Bussey as editor of the American Mathematical Monthly, in January, 1932.

The Indian Mathematical Society will celebrate its "silver jubilee" in 1932. A special commemoration number of its Journal will be published, and a jubilee fund is being collected to advance the interests of that Society.

At the meeting of the London Mathematical Society on November 12, 1931, the following officers and new members of the Council were elected: President, Professor A. C. Dixon; Vice-Presidents, Professor S. Chapman, Professor H. Levy, Mr. T. L. Wren; Treasurer, Dr. A. E. Western; Librarian, Professor H. Hilton; Secretaries, Professor G. N. Watson, Mr. F. P. White; new members of the Council, Mr. M. H. A. Newman and Mr. H. T. J. Norton.

The American Institute of Physics, an agency of cooperation in the interest of physics, has recently been established by the American Physical Society, the Optical Society of America, the Acoustical Society of America, and the Society of Rheology. This Institute will perfect details of organization and arrange for cooperative publication of physics journals, and assist the newspapers to disseminate accurate news of important developments and applications of physics. Henry A. Barton has been made the director, and John T. Tate the advisor on publications.

The Henry Burchard Fine Hall of Mathematics of Princeton University was dedicated with appropriate ceremonies on October 22, 1931. On this occasion papers were read by Professors G. D. Birkhoff and G. A. Bliss, both formerly members of the department of mathematics of Princeton.

## NOTES

The astronomy prize of the Accademia dei Lincei was awarded to Professor G. Abetti, of the University of Florence, not to G. Tobetti, as was announced in the September, 1931, number of this Bulletin. The name of the other recipient of this prize (V. Nobile) is given correctly there.

The Royal Society of London has awarded its Sylvester medal to Professor E. T. Whittaker for his original contributions to pure and applied mathematics, its Hughes medal to Professor W. L. Bragg for his pioneer work on the elucidation of crystal structure by X-ray analysis, and its Copley medal to Sir Arthur Shuster for his distinguished researches in optics and terrestrial magnetism.

The Frederick Ives medal of the Optical Society of America has been awarded to Dr. Theodore Lyman, emeritus professor of mathematics and natural philosophy at Harvard.

The John Fritz gold medal, conferred by the four American societies of civil, mining and metallurgical, mechanical, and electrical engineers, has been awarded for 1932 to Professor M. I. Pupin, of Columbia University, for his achievements as "scientist, engineer, author, inventor of the tuning of oscillating circuits and the loading of telephone circuits by inductance coils."

On the occasion of the opening of the new laboratory of physical chemistry at the University of Freiburg im Breisgau, honorary degrees were conferred on Lord Rutherford, Professor Manne Siegbahn of the University of Uppsala, and Professor V. M. Goldschmidt of Göttingen.

On the occasion of the centenary meeting of the British Association for the Advancement of Science, the University of London conferred honorary doctorates on Lord Rutherford and Sir J. J. Thomson.

Dr. W. Friedli has been appointed to a professorship at the University of Berne, as successor to Professor C. Moser, retired.

Dr. Fritz Kirchner, of the University of Munich, has been promoted to an associate professorship of physics.

Dr. Walther Mayer has been promoted to an associate professorship of mathematics at the University of Vienna.

Professor Hans Mohrmann, of the Darmstadt Technical School, has been appointed professor of mathematics at the University of Giessen.

Dr. Trygve Nagel, of the University of Oslo, has been appointed successor to Professor A. Wiman, at the University of Uppsala.

Professor Emile Picard has been appointed to an honorary professorship in the Faculty of Sciences of the University of Paris.

Professor Michel Plancherel has been appointed rector of the Zurich Technical School.

1932.]

Professor G. H. Hardy, Mr. H. S. M. Coxeter, and Mr. L. C. Young have been elected to fellowships in Trinity College, Cambridge.

Dr. E. L. Ince has been appointed lecturer in mathematics at the University of Edinburgh.

Assistant Professor C. T. Bumer of the Ohio State University, has been appointed assistant professor of mathematics at Kenyon College.

Colonel C. P. Echols, professor of mathematics at the United States Military Academy at West Point, has retired from the Army.

Dr. Irwin Roman, mathematical physicist of the Geophysical Research Corporation, has been appointed assistant professor of mathematics at the Michigan College of Mining and Technology.

Professor Elijah Swift, head of the department of mathematics in the College of Arts and Sciences of the University of Vermont, has been made dean of that College.

Professor Niels Nielsen, of the University of Copenhagen, is dead.

Professor Charlotte A. Scott, formerly professor of mathematics at Bryn Mawr College, died November 8, 1931, at the age of seventy-three. Professor Scott had been a member of the American Mathematical Society since 1891.

Dr. Steven Marshall Hadley, who was for many years dean and professor of mathematics at Penn College, Oskaloosa, Iowa, died at Whittier, California, on November 10, 1931.

Professor G. O. James, of Washington University, St. Louis, died November 24, 1931. Professor James had been a member of the American Mathematical Society since 1906.

Mr. E. A. Kholodovsky, formerly instructor in mathematics at the Technical School of Petrograd, was killed in an automobile accident in New York City, October 10, 1931. Mr. Kholodovsky had been a member of the American Mathematical Society since 1926.

Professor C. L. E. Moore of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, died on December 5, 1931, at the age of fifty-five. Professor Moore had been a member of the American Mathematical Society since 1903.

Professor G. W. Myers, of the University of Chicago, died November 23, 1931.

Professor C. W. Watts, of Virginia Military Institute, died on July 10, 1931.