## NOTES

## NOTES

The founding of an international mathematical journal, Compositio Mathematica, is announced by its publisher, N. Noordhoff, of Groningen. The administrative board of editors consists of L. Bieberbach, of Berlin, L. E. J. Brouwer, of Amsterdam, T. De Donder, of Brussels, G. Julia, of Paris, and B. M. Wilson, of Dundee. They are assisted by nearly fifty editors, representing all the principal mathematical countries, including the following Americans: L. P. Eisenhart, E. Hille, S. Lefschetz, and O. Veblen.

Arrangements have been completed for the publication, through the offices of the American Institute of Physics, of the Journal of the Aeronautical Sciences, the official organ of the newly established Institute of Aeronautical Sciences. The Journal will be edited by the president of the Institute, Professor J. C. Hunsaker, head of the department of mechanical engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The business of the Institute of Aeronautical Sciences, including the handling of membership applications and subscriptions to the Journal, will be carried on at its office, 5431 R. C. A. Building, Rockefeller Center, New York City.

An edition of the complete works of H. A. Lorentz is being prepared, under the editorship of P. Zeeman, P. Ehrenfest, and A. D. Fokker. The edition will be in nine volumes, and will include all treatises that have not already appeared in book form. The publisher is Martinus Nijhoff, of the Hague.

At a meeting held at Centenary College, Shreveport, Louisiana, on October 21, 1933, the Southern Intercollegiate Mathematics Association was founded, "to promote and support contests in mathematics and to encourage mutual and intellectual fellowship among its members." The following officers were elected: president, I. Maizlish, of Centenary College; vice-president, J. E. Burnam, of Simmons University; secretary-treasurer, Frances White, of Louisiana Polytechnic Institute.

The Nobel prize in physics for 1932 has been awarded to Werner Heisenberg, of Leipzig; the award for 1933 has been divided between Erwin Schrödinger, of Berlin, and P. A. M. Dirac, of Cambridge.

Professors F. Paschen, formerly director of the Reichsanstalt, Berlin, A. Sommerfeld, of the University of Munich, and R. W. Wood, of Johns Hopkins University, have been elected honorary fellows of the Physical Society of London.

The University of St. Andrews has conferred an honorary doctorate on Emeritus Professor J. E. A. Steggall, who has recently retired after fifty years of service in the chair of mathematics in University College, Dundee.

On the occasion of the celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of the founding of the Graduate School of the University of Pennsylvania, Dr. L. P. Eisenhart, dean of the Graduate School of Princeton University, received the honorary degree of doctor of science.

J. LeRoux, professor of rational mechanics at the University of Rennes, has retired with the title of honorary professor.

Professor Alfred Loewy, of the department of mathematics of the University of Freiburg, has retired.

Professor L. C. Karpinski, of the University of Michigan, will lecture on various topics in the history of mathematics at the Universities of Athens, Cairo, Beirut, and Jerusalem, during the first half of the present academic year.

After attending the International Congress on Statistics held in Mexico, Professor Maurice Fréchet, of the University of Paris, delivered lectures at a number of universities in the United States. On November 2–3, he lectured at Columbia University on *The theory of dependent probabilities*.

Professor Hermann Weyl, formerly of Göttingen and recently appointed to a professorship at the Institute for Advanced Study, delivered the following series of lectures at Swarthmore College in October and November, 1933: Subjective elements in sense perception; World and consciousness; Constructive character of scientific concepts and theories; Relativity; Subject and object in quantum physics.

In addition to those whose names were given in a note in the September, 1933, issue of this Bulletin (p. 664), the following persons are in residence during the present academic year in the school of mathematics of the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton: Dr. R. L. Echols, Dr. D. H. Lehmer, Dr. Mabel F. Schmeiser, Dr. I. J. Schoenberg, Dr. Anna A. Stafford.

Dr. T. C. Benton, of Pennsylvania State College, has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Dr. Richard Brauer, formerly of the University of Koenigsberg, is spending the present year at the University of Kentucky as visiting professor of mathematics. In the November, 1933, issue of this Bulletin, p. 859, his name was given erroneously as Felix Brauer.

Dr. R. S. Burington has been promoted to an assistant professorship of mathematics at the Case School of Applied Science.

Assistant Professor H. B. Curry, of Pennsylvania State College, has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Professor James Franck, formerly of Göttingen, was the joint guest of the physics departments of Harvard University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology during the month of December, 1933.

Associate Professor Orrin Frink, of Pennsylvania State College, has been promoted to a full professorship of mathematics.

Mr. W. H. Ingram has been appointed lecturer at the College of the City of New York.

## NOTES

The Abbé Georges Lemaitre, professor of astrophysics at the University of Louvain, has been appointed visiting professor at the Catholic University of America for the present academic year.

Professor John von Neumann, of Princeton University, has been appointed professor of mathematics at the Institute for Advanced Study.

Dr. H. H. Pixley, of the College of the City of Detroit, has been granted leave of absence to serve as mathematical economist in the Division of Economic Research and Planning of the National Recovery Administration.

Associate Professor C. A. Rupp, of Pennsylvania State College, has been promoted to a professorship of mathematics.

Assistant Professor I. M. Sheffer, of Pennsylvania State College, has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Associate Professor C. C. Wagner, of Pennsylvania State College, has been promoted to a professorship.

The following appointment to an instructorship in mathematics is announced:

Johns Hopkins University: Dr. J. L. Dorroh.

The widow of the late Dr. J. C. Glashan, distinguished Canadian mathematician, desires to dispose of his library, which consists of about five thousand volumes, chiefly modern treatises on pure and applied mathematics. Contact with the owner may be made through Professor James T. Shotwell, of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, 450 West 117th St., New York City.

Dr. P. Ehrenfest, professor of theoretical physics at the University of Leiden, committed suicide on September 25, 1933.

P. Forchheimer, formerly professor at the Technical School of Graz and later director of the Technical School at Constantinople, died at the age of eighty-two.

Mr. E. B. Hill, assistant actuary of the Aetna Life Insurance Company, died October 13, 1933, at the age of forty-eight.

Professor A. B. Morton, of the Georgia School of Technology, died October 13, 1933. Professor Morton was a member of the American Mathematical Society.

Miss Mary F. Smith, College Recorder of Wellesley College, is dead. Miss Smith was a member of the American Mathematical Society.

1934.]