BULLETIN

OF THE

AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

THE OCTOBER MEETING IN NEW YORK

The three hundred thirty-fifth meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at Columbia University on Saturday, October 31, 1936. The attendance included the following one hundred forty members of the Society:

C. R. Adams, H. S. Adams, R. B. Adams, R. L. Anderson, R. C. Archibald, R. G. Archibald, W. L. Ayres, Reinhold Baer, N. H. Ball, M. F. Becker, A. A. Bennett, Garrett Birkhoff, G. D. Birkhoff, Salomon Bochner, H. F. Bohnenblust, C. B. Boyer, A. D. Bradley, H. W. Brinkmann, A. W. Bull, J. Hughes Bushey, J. H. Bushey, J. A. Clarkson, George Comenetz, H. R. Cooley, Richard Courant, D. B. DeLury, Vincent Dillon, Arnold Dresden, Melvin Dresher, W. L. Duren, H. T. Engstrom, Fay Farnum, A. D. Fialkow, E. J. Finan, Edward Fleisher, M. M. Flood, Tomlinson Fort, M. C. Foster, R. M. Foster, J. S. Frame, Philip Franklin, T. C. Fry, D. L. Fuller, A. S. Galbraith, B. P. Gill, S. H. Gould, A. A. Grant, Margaret Gurney, N. L. Haight, Marshall Hall, G. G. Harvey, Max Herzberger, E. H. C. Hildebrandt, Einar Hille, Harold Hotelling, S. E. Hotelling, E. M. Hull, S. A. Joffe, R. A. Johnson, E. R. van Kampen, Edward Kasner, L. S. Kennison, R. B. Kershner, P. W. Ketchum, J. R. Kline, A. W. Landers, M. K. Landers, Solomon Lefschetz, Madeline Levin, E. R. Lorch, A. N. Lowan, R. R. Lyle, J. C. C. McKinsey, E. J. McShane, L. A. MacColl, H. M. MacNeille, H. F. MacNeish, Ingo Maddaus, A. E. Meder, L. T. Moore, T. W. Moore, Richard Morris, Marston Morse, F. J. Murray, D. S. Nathan, C. A. Nelson, John von Neumann, Alta Odoms, Oystein Ore, F. W. Owens, H. B. Owens, H. B. Phillips, E. L. Post, Walter Prenowitz, G. B. Price, R. G. Putnam, J. F. Randolph, H. W. Reddick, M. S. Rees, W. T. Reid, Moses Richardson, J. F. Ritt, M. S. Robertson, S. L. Robinson, Benjamin Rosenbaum, S. G. Roth, Max Sasuly, Stephan Serghiesco, I. M. Sheffer, Jacob Sherman, Max Shiffman, C. G. Shover, L. G. Simons, L. L. Smail, P. A. Smith, R. C. Stauffer, N. E. Steenrod, M. H. Stone, D. J. Struik, J. D. Tamarkin, J. M. Thomas, E. W. Titt, C. B. Tompkins, Annita Tuller, S. M. Ulam, I. L. Van Dyck, Oswald Veblen, H. E. Wahlert, Henry Wallman, Louis Weisner, M. J. Weiss, A. P. Wheeler, Norbert Wiener, W. A. Wilson, H. P. Wirth, W. H. Wise, D. W. Woodard, H. N. Wright, Leo Zippin, H. S. Zuckerman.

The meeting opened on Saturday morning with a session for short papers. In the fore part of the afternoon there was a general session at which Professor Philip Franklin gave an address on Transcendental numbers. Later in the afternoon Professor Henry Norris Russell delivered the thirteenth annual Josiah Willard Gibbs Lecture before a joint meeting with the American Physical Society. His subject was Model Stars.

A meeting of the Council was held between the morning and afternoon sessions.

It was reported that the following persons had been elected to membership in the Society:

Professor Oscar Kenneth Bates, The St. Lawrence University, Canton, N. Y.;

Mr. Frank Webster Burton, Fine Hall, Princeton, N. J.;

Professor Élie Joseph Cartan, University of Paris;

Dr. Nicholas Q. Chako, Lynn, Mass.;

Mr. Mortimer James Clingan, New York, N.Y.;

Miss Geraldine Alma Coon, Brown University;

Mr. Robert Victor-Augustus De Vita, Brooklyn, N.Y.;

Dr. Sydney Henry Gould, University of Toronto;

Dr. Ross Arthur Harrison, Oneonta, N.Y.;

Dr. Ivar Edmund Highberg, Whitman College, Walla Walla, Wash.;

Mr. Vern Russel Jones, Tri-State College, Angola, Ind.;

Dr. Bela Adalbert Lengyel, Cambridge, Mass.;

Mr. R. Eric O'Connor, Weston College, Weston, Mass.;

Mr. David Gadalliah Rabinow, Worcester, Mass.;

Dr. Ruth Ramler Struik, Belmont, Mass.:

Mr. John Wilder Tukey, Brown University;

Dr. Lee Roy Wilcox, Institute for Advanced Study.

As nominee of Brown University:

Miss Dorothy L. Bernstein, Brown University.

As nominee of the College of St. Thomas:

Mr. Vernon John Varino, College of St. Thomas, St. Paul, Minn.

The following institutions of learning were elected to institutional membership in the Society:

Acadia University:

Sweet Briar College.

The following appointment by President Lefschetz was announced: as representative of the Society at the inauguration of William Alfred Eddy as president of Hobart College and William Smith College, October 2, 1936, Professor W. B. Carver.

Because of the resignation of Professor G. W. Mullins as Treasurer of the Society and the expiration on October 31, 1936 of the term of office of the Acting-Treasurer, the council elected Professor P. A. Smith to serve as Treasurer for the remainder of the year 1936.

Titles and cross references to the abstracts of the papers read at this meeting follow below; papers whose abstract numbers are followed by the letter t were read by title. Papers numbered 1 to 8 were read at the morning session, Professor C. R. Adams presiding; those numbered 9 to 20 were read at the afternoon session, Professor Norbert Wiener presiding. Mr. Morse was introduced by Professor J. R. Kline and Professor Friedrichs by Professor J. D. Tamarkin.

- 1. Convergence in variation and related topics, by Mr. A. P. Morse. (Abstract 42-11-403.)
- 2. On the Jacobi condition for the double integral problem of the calculus of variations, by Dr. W. T. Reid. (Abstract 42-11-406.)
- 3. On the extreme points of convex sets, by Dr. G. B. Price. (Abstract 42-11-405.)
- 4. Conformal theorems on triplets of curves, by Professor Edward Kasner. (Abstract 42-11-402.)
- 5. On the behavior of a conformal mapping at a cusp. II, by Dr. S. E. Warschawski. (Abstract 42-11-409-t.)
- 6. Conformal geometry on a surface, by Dr. George Comenetz. (Abstract 42-11-398.)
- 7. Initial motion at a point of equilibrium, by Dr. A. D. Fialkow (National Research Fellow). (Abstract 42-11-400.)
- 8. Finite combinatory processes. Formulation 1, by Dr. E. L. Post. (Abstract 42-11-412.)
- 9. Primary abelian groups and their automorphisms, by Dr. Reinhold Baer. (Abstract 42-11-395-t.)
- 10. Dualism in abelian groups, by Dr. Reinhold Baer. (Abstract 42-11-396-t.)
- 11. Equivalence of algebraic extensions, by Dr. Reinhold Baer. (Abstract 42-11-397-t.)
- 12. Schwarzian reflection on a surface, by Dr. George Comenetz. (Abstract 42-11-399-t.)
- 13. A simplified set of postulates for a group, by Mr. R. M. Foster. (Abstract 42-9-329-t.)
- 14. On some two-dimensional problems in heat conduction, by Professor A. N. Lowan. (Abstract 42-9-390-t.)

- 15. On rings of operators. II, by Dr. F. J. Murray and Professor John von Neumann. (Abstract 42-11-404-t.)
- 16. A determinant used in functional equations, by Mr. L. B. Robinson. (Abstract 42-11-407-t.)
- 17. On the definition of "sense" in the foundations of geometry, by Dr. A. R. Schweitzer. (Abstract 42-11-408-t.)
- 18. On the maps of an n-sphere into another n-sphere, by Professor Hassler Whitney. (Abstract 42-11-410-t.)
- 19. Cremona webs of surfaces in S_3 without base curves, by Dr. R. A. Harrison. (Abstract 42-11-401-t.)
- 20. On certain inequalities and characteristic-value problems for analytic functions and for functions of two variables, by Professor Kurt Friedrichs. (Abstract 42-11-411-t.)

J. R. KLINE, Associate Secretary