## NOTES

The University of Notre Dame has begun the publication of a series entitled Reports of a Mathematical Colloquium, edited by Professor Karl Menger. The reports are to form a new series following Ergebnisse eines mathematischen Kolloquiums which was published in Vienna from 1928 to 1936. The first issue, designated as second series, issue 1, has recently appeared.

The establishment of the Iowa State College Press, a publishing outlet for writings of book length in the fields of science and technology, has been announced.

The French Association for the Advancement of Science will meet at Liège on July 17–22, 1939.

The Sixth Pacific Science Congress will be held in Berkeley, Stanford, and San Francisco, California, from July 24 to August 12, under the auspices of the National Research Council.

The François Deruyts Prize of the Royal Academy of Belgium has been awarded to P. Burniat of the University of Brussels and F. Rozet of the University of Liège.

Professor W. D. Cairns, Secretary-Treasurer of the Mathematical Association of America, has announced that the Department of Mathematics of Brooklyn College, Brooklyn, New York, has won the first prize of \$500 in the second annual William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition, held March 4, 1939. The members of the winning team were Richard Bellman, Abraham Hillman, Bernard Sherman. The second prize of \$300 is awarded to the Department of Mathematics of Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, members of whose team were R. P. Feynman, J. W. Follin, Jr., H. E. Singleton. The third prize of \$200 is awarded to the Department of Mathematics of Mississippi Woman's College, Hattiesburg, Mississippi, members of whose team were Nina P. Byrd, Mary E. Fancher, Ethel L. Tate. In addition to these prizes to the departments of mathematics with winning teams, a prize of \$50 each is awarded to the following five persons whose scores ranked highest in the six-hour examination (names arranged alphabetically): R. P. Feynman, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Abraham Hillman, Brooklyn College; E. L. Kaplan, Carnegie Institute of Technology; William Nierenberg, College of the City of New York; Bernard Sherman, Brooklyn College. One of these five will receive a \$1000 year scholarship at Harvard University, this award to be announced later. The members of the three winning teams will receive individual prizes of \$50, \$30, and \$20, according to the ranks of their teams, and all individuals receiving prizes will also receive medals. Honorable mention has been awarded this year to three teams and to seven individuals. The teams are from the Department of Mathematics, College of the City of New York, members being Herbert Mintzer, William Nierenberg, Harry Soodak; the Department of Mathematics, Cooper Union Institute of Technology, New York, members being Theodore Berlin, Benjamin Lax, Samuel Manson; and the Department of Mathematics, University of California, Berkeley, members being W. M. Kincaid, C. W. Lippmann, S. A. Schaaf. The seven individuals receiving honorable mention are: Richmond Albert and Richard Bellman, Brooklyn College; Theodore Berlin and Benjamin Lax, Cooper Union Institute of Technology; C. W. Lippmann, University of California; M. J. Norris, College of St. Thomas; T. S. Schreiber, Johns Hopkins University.

The Franklin Institute has awarded the Elliott Cresson Medal to G. A. Campbell of the American Telephone and Telegraph Company, to J. R. Carson of the Bell Telephone Laboratories, and to C. V. Boys of London.

The John L. Lewis Prize of the American Philosophical Society has been awarded to Professor H. N. Russell of Princeton University.

On May 18, 1939, the seventieth birthday of Professor Élie Cartan was celebrated in Paris with appropriate ceremonies. A commemorative volume of his works is being published. A volume of the Journal de Mathématiques will be dedicated to him.

Professor A. Denjoy of the University of Paris has been elected an honorary member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Mr. M. H. A. Newman, lecturer in mathematics, Cambridge, has been elected a fellow of the Royal Society of London.

Professors F. Severi and E. Bompiani have been named members of the editorial committee of the Zentralblatt für Mathematik.

Professor G. D. Birkhoff of Harvard University has been appointed exchange professor to France for the second half of the academic year 1939-1940.

Professor William Marshall of Purdue University has retired with the title emeritus.

Professor J. H. Van Vleck of Harvard University gave a series of lectures at the Institute Henri Poincaré at the University of Paris during the month of May. He also took part in a symposium on magnetism at Strasbourg.

Professor Oscar Zariski of Johns Hopkins University has been awarded a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship.

Dr. Leon Alaoglu, Dr. D. T. Perkins, and Dr. B. J. Pettis have been appointed Benjamin Peirce instructors at Harvard University for the academic year 1939–1940.

Professor Silvio Cinquine has been appointed to a professorship at the University of Pavia.

Professor Basilio Manià of the University of Pavia has been appointed to a professorship at the University of Milan.

Professor R. Rothe of the Technical School of Berlin has retired.

Professor Antonio Signorini of the University of Naples has been appointed to a professorship at the University of Rome.

Professor Leonida Tonelli of the University of Pisa has been appointed to a professorship at the University of Rome.

Dean Daniel Buchanan of the University of British Columbia will be visiting professor of astronomy and mathematics in the summer session at Los Angeles from June 26 to August 4.

Assistant Professor Jewell Hughes Bushey of Hunter College has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Professor L. E. Dickson of the University of Chicago has announced his retirement, effective at the end of this academic year.

Assistant Professor C. H. Forsyth of Dartmouth College has been promoted to a professorship.

Associate Professor L. M. Graves of the University of Chicago has been promoted to a professorship.

Dr. Arthur Ollivier of Mississippi State College has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Assistant Professor R. L. O'Quinn of Louisiana State University has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Dr. N. E. Steenrod of Princeton University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Chicago.

Professor A. H. Wilson of Haverford College has retired.

Professor D. R. Curtiss of Northwestern University has been on leave of absence for the second semester of 1938–1939.

The following appointments to instructorships are announced: Armour Institute of Technology: Dr. W. T. Scott; Bradley Polytechnic Institute: Mr. R. N. Johanson; University of Chicago: Dr. O. F. G. Schilling.

Professor Emeritus C. M. Jessop of the University of Durham died on March 9, 1939, at the age of seventy-six years.

The death of Professor Reinhold Müller of the Technical School of Darmstadt has been reported.

The death of Georges Urbain on November 5, 1938, has been reported.

Mr. J. C. Rietz, vice president and actuary of the Midland Mutual Life Insurance Company of Columbus, Ohio, died April 21, 1939. He had been a member of the Society since 1921.