## NOTES

The University of Pennsylvania celebrated the two hundredth anniversary of its origin in September 1940. Professor Hermann Weyl of the Institute for Advanced Study gave an address on *The mathematical way of thinking*. Dr. T. C. Fry of the Bell Telephone Laboratories was chairman of the symposium on statistical methods in engineering. Associate Professor S. S. Wilks of Princeton University and Dr. W. A. Shewhart of the Bell Telephone Laboratories participated in this symposium.

The following members of the American Mathematical Society are in residence at the Institute for Advanced Study for all or part of this academic year: Dr. Warren Ambrose, Dr. Valentin Bargmann, Assistant Professor D. G. Bourgin of the University of Illinois, Dr. A. T. Brauer, Professor Orrin Frink of Pennsylvania State College, Dr. Guido Fubini, Dr. Kurt Gödel, Dr. P. R. Halmos, Dr. M. H. Heins, Dr. Dorothy Maharam, Assistant Professor Gordon Pall of McGill University, Dr. Abraham Schwartz, Dr. C. E. Shannon, Dr. Seymour Sherman, Assistant Professor A. H. Taub of the University of Washington, Dr. R. M. Thrall, and Professor W. J. Trjitzinsky of the University of Illinois.

The following persons are also to be at the Institute for Advanced Study during a part or all of the current academic year: Dr. C. L. Critchfield, Professor Shizuo Kakutani of Osaka Imperial University, Professor Wolfgang Pauli of Zürich Polytechnicum, and Professor C. L. Siegel of the University of Göttingen.

Assistant Professor R. G. Sanger of the University of Chicago has been awarded one of three \$1000 awards given at the University of Chicago to selected teachers for excellence in undergraduate teaching.

Professor H. H. Dalaker of the University of Minnesota has been given the title emeritus.

Professor Hermann Weyl of the Institute for Advanced Study has been awarded an honorary doctorate of science by the University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Frances E. Baker of Mount Holyoke College has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Dr. E. F. Beckenbach of Rice Institute has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Michigan.

NOTES 879

- Dr. J. H. Curtiss of Cornell University has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Dr. Churchill Eisenhart of the University of Wisconsin has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
  - Professor W. B. Ford of the University of Michigan has retired.
- Professor E. G. Harrell of the North Dakota State Teachers College, has been appointed to a professorship at the State Teachers College, Platteville, Wisconsin.
- Mr. L. B. Hedge of Brown University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at The Citadel.
- Dr. C. C. Hurd of Michigan State College has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Dr. J. F. Kubis of Fordham University has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Dr. S. B. Littauer of the U. S. Naval Academy at Annapolis has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Professor C. C. MacDuffee of the University of Wisconsin has been appointed to a professorship at Hunter College.
- Dr. W. H. Myers of the University of Utah has been appointed to an assistant professorship at San Jose Junior College, San Jose, California.
- Assistant Professor N. N. Royall of The Citadel has been appointed to an associate professorship at Winthrop College, Rock Hill, South Carolina.
- Dr. S. S. Smith of the University of Utah has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Associate Professor R. C. Stephens of Knox College has been promoted to a professorship.
- Dr. J. A. Ward of the Tennessee Polytechnic Institute has been appointed to an associate professorhip at Delta State Teachers College, Cleveland, Mississippi.
- Dr. L. R. Wilcox of the University of Wisconsin has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the Illinois Institute of Technology.

880 NOTES

Associate Professor P. A. De Vore of Central Missouri State Teachers College has been granted a leave of absence of this academic year.

Dr. R. H. Fox of the Institute for Advanced Study has been made an associate at the University of Illinois.

The following appointments to instructorships are announced: Brooklyn College: Mr. Saul Gorn, Dr. D. C. Harkin; College of the City of New York: Dr. G. N. Garrison; Cooper Union: Dr. Alvin Sugar; Duke University: Miss Mary E. Layne; Eastern Washington College of Education, Cheney, Washington: Mr. R. F. Bell; Gogebic Junior College, Ironwood, Michigan: Mr. K. F. McLaughlin; Illinois Institute of Technology: Dr. Herbert Busemann, Dr. J. J. DeCicco; Iowa State College: Dr. A. T. Lonseth; Johns Hopkins University: Dr. R. B. Kershner; University of Michigan: Dr. G. E. Hay, Dr. Wilfred Kaplan; University of Minnesota: Dr. J. M. H. Olmsted; University of Missouri: Dr. M. E. Shanks, Dr. J. V. Wehausen; University of Nevada: Mr. E. M. Beesley; North Carolina State College: Dr. Abe Gelbart; Oklahoma Agricultural and Mechanical College: Dr. P. E. Lewis; Purdue University: Mr. C. D. Olds; Southern Methodist University: Dr. D. W. Starr; Texas Technological College: Dr. P. W. Gilbert; Vanderbilt University: Dr. John Dyer-Bennet; University of Wisconsin: Dr. S. M. Ulam.

Mr. Jonathan Hodgkinson of Jesus College, Oxford University, died June 21, 1940, at the age of fifty-four years.

The death of Professor A. E. H. Love of Oxford University has been reported.

Dr. Frederic Marty lost his life June 14, 1940 while in the service of France.

Dr. E. G. C. Poole of Oxford University died June 28, 1940, at the age of forty-nine years.

Dean F. G. Wren of Tufts College died July 17, 1940, at the age of sixty-six years He had been a member of the Society since 1922.