NOTES

The editorial committee of the Bulletin has in the past adhered to an upper limit of ten printed pages on the length of papers published in the Bulletin, except in the case of invited addresses. In the future no fixed upper limit will be maintained. The Council of the Society has approved the general policy that the Bulletin should be reserved for papers of more general interest and the shorter notes, while the Transactions should have the deeper and longer research papers which would be read particularly by specialists. In some cases it is anticipated that a paper submitted to one of the Society's journals may be transferred to the other, particularly when it is of intermediate length, and publication may thereby be hastened. In view of the extreme demands for space in the mathematical journals, authors are urged to make their articles as concise as is consistent with clarity. In some cases consideration should be given to the possibility of combining several short notes into one memoir.

The National Research Council has announced a new quarterly publication, *Mathematical tables and aids to computation*, edited by Professor R. C. Archibald of Brown University. The publication is to serve as a clearing-house for information concerning mathematical tables and other aids to computation. The chief parts of each issue will normally be devoted to the following topics: articles, recent mathematical tables (critical reviews), mathematical tables—errata, unpublished mathematical tables, mechanical aids to computation, notes, queries, queries-replies. The price will be three dollars a year, one dollar a number. For subscriptions and further information address Division of Physical Sciences, The National Research Council, 2101 Constitution Avenue, Washington, D. C.

Professor O. P. Akers of Allegheny College has retired.

Associate Professor J. V. Atanasoff of Iowa State College has been promoted to a professorship of mathematical physics.

Mr. O. E. Bennett has been appointed to an assistant professor-ship at Washington College, Chestertown, Maryland.

Assistant Professor Herman Betz of the University of Missouri has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Professor J. H. Butchart of William Woods College, Fulton, Missouri, has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Grinnell College.

NOTES 213

- Mr. C. L. Buxton of Clarkson College of Technology has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Associate Professor C. S. Carlson of St. Olaf College, St. Paul, Minnesota, has been promoted to a professorship.
 - Dr. G. P. Cowan of St. John's University has retired.
- Dr. J. M. Dobbie of Northwestern University has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Dr. Jesse Douglas has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Brooklyn College.
- Dr. J. W. Givens of Northwestern University has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Assistant Professor H. S. Kaltenborn of Louisiana Polytechnic Institute has been promoted to an associate professorship.
- Dr. H. L. Lee of the University of Tennessee has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Mrs. D. H. Lehmer and Mrs. C. D. Shane have been appointed to lectureships in mathematics at the University of California.
- Associate Professor A. N. Lowan of Yeshiva College has been promoted to a professorship.
 - Professor W. A. Manning of Stanford University has retired.
 - Mr. E. C. Molina of the Bell Telephone Laboratories has retired.
- Dr. R. H. Moorman of Tennessee Polytechnic Institute has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Dr. J. M. H. Olmsted of the University of Minnesota has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Assistant Professor L. D. Rodabaugh of Butler University has been appointed to a professorship at Shurtleff College, Alton, Illinois.
- Assistant Professor Helen G. Russell of Wellesley College is on leave for the academic year 1942–1943 and is at the University of California.
- Dr. P. C. Scott of Louisiana State University has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Dr. Abraham Spitzbart of the University of Minnesota has been appointed to a professorship at the College of St. Thomas.

- Dr. Ellen C. Stokes of the New York State College for Teachers at Albany has been appointed dean of women.
- Mr. J. A. Straw of the University of Louisville has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Rose Polytechnic Institute.
- Dr. S. H. Taylor has been appointed adjunct professor at the University of South Carolina.
- Dr. D. L. Webb of Georgia School of Technology has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Texas Technological College.
- Professor D. V. Widder has been appointed chairman of the department of mathematics at Harvard University, succeeding Professor M. H. Stone.

Associate Professor Roscoe Woods is acting head of the department of mathematics at the University of Iowa during the illness of Professor H. L. Rietz.

Dr. E. L. Welker of the University of Illinois has been made an associate.

The following appointments to instructorships are announced: University of Arkansas: Mr. R. V. Simpson; Brown University: Mr. A. F. Bartholomaz, Mr. M. E. Munroe; University of California: Mrs. R. K. Wakerling; University of California at Los Angeles: Dr. R. H. Sorgenfrey; University of Illinois: Mr. J. C. Bell; Iowa State College: Mr. J. W. Beach, Mr. F. E. Bortle, Mr. R. N. Goss; University of Kentucky: Miss Mary H. Cooper, Mr. J. C. Eaves, Miss Lydia R. Fischer; Louisiana State University: Mr. J. E. Pryor; Miami University: Miss Alberta Wolfe; Michigan College of Mining and Technology: Mr. J. C. Butler, Mr. T. R. Richards, Mr. Earl Roberts; State Teachers College, Mankato, Minnesota: Mr. C. J. Kirchen; University of Minnesota: Mr. W. D. Munro; Muskingum College, New Concord, Ohio: Mr. L. C. Knight, Jr.; University of North Carolina: Dr. I. S. Cohen; Northwestern University: Miss Louise M. Sagen; University of South Carolina: Miss Flora Dinkines; University of Southern California: Miss F. Marian Clarke, Mr. E. C. Rex, Mr. Veryl Throckmorton; Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas: Mr. A. R. Wapple; Texas Technological College: Miss Annie N. Rowland; Tuskegee Institute: Dr. J. E. Wilkins; Williams College: Mr. E. F. Gillette; University of Wisconsin: Dr. D. T. McClay.

Dr. A. E. Mayer of London, England, died November 3, 1942. He was formerly connected with the University of Vienna.

Professor Emeritus Alfred Baker of the University of Toronto died October 27, 1942, at the age of ninety-four years. He had been a member of the Society from 1891 to 1920.

Professor W. M. Carruth of Hamilton College died January 23, 1943. He had been a member of the Society since 1907.

Professor Emeritus C. H. Currier of Brown University died January 5, 1943. He was a member of the Society from 1908 to 1939.

Professor Emeritus I. M. DeLong of the University of Colorado died September 2, 1942. He had been a member of the Society since 1891.

Professor E. L. Dodd of the University of Texas died January 9, 1943. He had been a member of the Society since 1904.

Dean Emeritus G. H. Ling of the University of Saskatchewan died October 21, 1942, at the age of sixty-eight years. He had been a member of the Society since 1894.

Assistant Professor L. I. Neikirk of the University of Washington died December 10, 1942. He had been a member of the Society since 1903.

Professor Emeritus J. H. Scarborough of Central Missouri State Teachers College died November 25, 1942. He had been a member of the Society from 1906 to 1940.