Emergency Executive Committee of the International Congress of Mathematicians:

G. D. Birkhoff (Chairman), Einar Hille, M. H. Ingraham, J. R. Kline, Marston Morse, R. G. D. Richardson, M. H. Stone.

## FORMER PRESIDENTS

J. H. Van Amringe, 1889–1890.
Emory McClintock, 1891–1894.
G. W. Hill, 1895–1896.
Simon Newcomb, 1897–1898.
R. S. Woodward, 1899–1900.
E. H. Moore, 1901–1902.
T. S. Fiske, 1903–1904.
W. F. Osgood, 1905–1906.
H. S. White, 1907–1908.
Maxime Böcher, 1909–1910.
H. B. Fine, 1911–1912
E. B. Van Vleck, 1913–1914.
E. W. Brown, 1915–1916.

L. E. Dickson, 1917–1918.
Frank Morley, 1919–1920.
G. A. Bliss, 1921–1922.
Oswald Veblen, 1923–1924.
G. D. Birkhoff, 1925–1926.
Virgil Snyder, 1927–1928.
E. R. Hedrick, 1929–1930.
L. P. Eisenhart, 1931–1932.
A. B. Coble, 1933–1934.
Solomon Lefschetz, 1935–1936.
R. L. Moore, 1937–1938.
G. C. Evans, 1939–1940.
Marston Morse, 1941–1942.

## ENDOWMENT FUND

In 1923 an Endowment Fund was collected to meet the greater demands on the Society's publication program caused by the ever increasing number of important mathematical memoirs. Of this fund, which now amounts to some \$65,500, a considerable proportion was contributed by members of the Society. Under the terms of the will of the late Robert Henderson, for many years a Trustee of the Society, the Society receives approximately \$4,000 yearly. Upon the death of the other legatees, the Society will receive the entire principal of the estate for its Endowment Fund.

## SPECIAL FUNDS

## The Bôcher Memorial Prize.

This prize was founded in memory of Professor Maxime Bocher. It is awarded every five years for a notable research memoir in analysis which has appeared during the preceding five years in a recognized journal published in the United States or Canada; the recipient must be a member of the Society, and not more than fifty years old at the time of publication of his memoir.

First (Preliminary) Award, 1923: To G. D. Birkhoff, for his memoir Dynamical systems with two degrees of freedom.

Second Award, 1924: to E. T. Bell, for his memoir Arithmetical paraphrases, and to Solomon Letschetz, for his memoir On certain numerical invariants with applications to abelian varieties.

Third Award, 1928: To J.W. Alexander, for his memoir Combinatorial analysis situs.

Fourth Award, 1933: To Marston Morse, for his memoir *The foundations of a theory of the calculus of variations in the large in m-space*, and to Norbert Wiener, for his memoir *Tauberian theorems*.

Fifth Award, 1938: To John von Neumann, for his memoir Almost periodic functions and groups.