## NOTES

The editors of the Bulletin wish to make grateful public acknowledgment of the services rendered by the following persons who have referreed papers: C. R. Adams, R. P. Agnew, A. A. Albert, Reinhold Baer, M. A. Basoco, Harry Bateman, E. G. Begle, E. T. Bell, Stefan Bergman, P. G. Bergmann, L. M. Blumenthal, R. P. Boas, D. G. Bourgin, Richard Brauer, A. B. Brown, R. H. Bruck, R. C. Buck, S. S. Chern, Claude Chevalley, E. W. Chittenden, Alonzo Church, L. W. Cohen, M. M. Day, John DeCicco, J. L. Doob, Jesse Douglas, F. G. Dressel, Nelson Dunford, Samuel Eilenberg, Paul Erdös, R. H. Fox, K. O. Friedrichs, H. L. Garabedian, Kurt Gödel, W. H. Gottschalk, V. G. Grove, M. H. Heins, J. D. Hill, Einar Hille, Witold Hurewicz, S. B. Jackson, Nathan Jacobson, R. L. Jeffery, F. B. Jones, Mark Kac, Irving Kaplansky, E. P. Lane, C. G. Latimer, Walter Leighton, Norman Levinson, D. C. Lewis, L. H. Loomis, E. R. Lorch, N. H. McCoy, C. C. MacDuffee, W. T. Martin, W. E. Milne, C. N. Moore, F. D. Murnaghan, C. V. Newsom, Oystein Ore, J. C. Oxtoby, F. W. Perkins, Harry Pollard, Hans Rademacher, G. Y. Rainich, W. T. Reid, R. M. Robinson, Raphael Salem, G. E. Schweigert, Wladimir Seidel, I. S. Sokolnikoff, N. E. Steenrod, Otto Szász, Gabor Szegő, J. D. Tamarkin, Alfred Tarski, W. J. Thron, J. W. Tukey, H. L. Turrittin, S. M. Ulam, J. V. Uspensky, R. J. Walker, H. S. Wall, A. D. Wallace, Morgan Ward, Hassler Whitney, G. T. Whyburn, D. V. Widder, Jacob Wolfowitz, J. W. T. Youngs, Oscar Zariski, Antoni Zygmund.

The editors of the Transactions wish to acknowledge the services of the following persons, not members of the Editorial Board, who have been consulted regarding papers offered for publication in volumes 55 and 56: Reinhold Baer, P. O. Bell, Garrett Birkhoff, L. M. Blumenthal, R. P. Boas, Salomon Bochner, A. T. Brauer, R. H. Bruck, S. S. Chern, Claude Chevalley, W. Z. Chien, H. S. M. Coxeter, H. H. Goldstine, J. W. Green, Einar Hille, B. W. Jones, J. L. Kelley, C. B. Morrey, P. V. Reichelderfer, C. E. Rickart, Raphael Salem, O. F. G. Schilling, T. E. Sewell, C. L. Siegel, M. H. Stone, Otto Szász, Gabor Szegö, Alfred Tarski, André Weil, Hermann Weyl, L. R. Wilcox.

The Adolph Lomb Medal for 1944 has been awarded to Mr. R. C. Jones of the Bell Telephone Laboratories.

The Department of Mathematics of Brooklyn College, Professor

NOTES 55

Jesse Douglas of Brooklyn College, and Professor John DeCicco of the Illinois Institute of Technology received awards at the First Honors Day Exercises at Brooklyn College, October 5, 1944.

- Professor A. R. Crathorne of the University of Illinois has retired with the title professor emeritus.
- Professor N. J. Lennes of Montana State University has been given the title professor emeritus.
- Professor W. H. McCrea of Queen's University, Belfast, Northern Ireland, has been appointed to a professorship at the University of London.
- Professor Harold Simpson of the University of London has retired and Dr. W. N. Bailey of the University of Manchester has been appointed to the chair of mathematics at the University of London.
- Dr. A. J. Allen has been appointed professor of engineering at the University of Pittsburgh.
- Dr. E. G. Begle of Yale University has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Assistant Professor H. R. Branson of Howard University has been promoted to an associate professorship.
- Associate Professor W. H. Brothers of Talladega College, Talladega, Alabama, has been promoted to a professorship.
- Mr. J. O. Brown of Hampton Institute, Hampton, Virginia, has been promoted to an assistant professorship of physics.
- Dr. E. W. Cannon of the University of Delaware has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Dr. M. A. Coler has been appointed adjunct professor of chemical engineering at New York University.
- Sister M. Loyola Conlan of the College of Mt. St. Vincent, New York City, has been promoted to a professorship.
- Mr. R. E. Fullerton of Yale University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Oklahoma.
- Dr. B. E. Gillam of the University of Missouri has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa.
- Mr. F. F. Helton of the University of Illinois has been appointed to an associate professorship at Central College, Fayette, Missouri.

Dr. A. W. Jones of Yale University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Michigan State College.

Assistant Professor J. F. Kubis of Fordham University has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Mr. Simon Lopata has been appointed lecturer in the evening session of Hunter College.

Associate Professor Florence M. Mears of George Washington University has been promoted to a professorship.

Assistant Professor R. H. Moorman of Tennessee Polytechnic Institute has been granted leave of absence to serve as acting associate professor at the College of Charleston.

Associate Professor Cronan Mullen of Siena College, Loudonville, New York, has been promoted to a professorship.

Assistant Professor R. J. Pitts of Fort Valley State College, Fort Valley, Georgia, has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Dr. G. M. Robison of Susquehanna University has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Associate Professor J. S. Rosen of Eastern New Mexico College has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Kansas City.

Assistant Professor A. E. Ross of St. Louis University has been promoted to an associate professorship.

- Dr. T. H. Southard of Wayne University has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Dr. C. W. Vickery, formerly with the University of Texas and with the War Department, is now a consulting engineer, specializing in industrial, actuarial, and quality control engineering in Washington, D. C.

Assistant Professor W. G. Warnock of the University of Alabama has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Associate Professor S. S. Wilks of Princeton University has been promoted to a professorship.

Mr. J. F. Wyckoff of Trinity College has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

The following persons are in residence at the Institute for Advanced Study during the current academic year: Professor S. S. Chern, Dr. Kurt Gödel, Dr. A. A. Grau, Dr. Olaf Helmer, Dr. Ning Hu, Professor Wolfgang Pauli, Professor Tibor Radó, Professor D. E. Richmond, Professor Robert Schatten, and Professor C. L. Siegel. Mr. E. G. Straus and Dr. Valentine Bargmann have appointments as assistants.

The following appointments to instructorships are announced: University of Buffalo: Mr. R. C. Luippold; University of Chicago: Mr. S. P. Hughart; Georgia School of Technology: Mr. S. B. Sommerville; Hillyer Junior College, Hartford, Connecticut: Mr. P. T. Bateman; Michigan State College: Dr. Margaret Mauch; University of Michigan: Dr. O. G. Owens; New Mexico College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts: Mr. N. W. Wells; University of New Mexico: Miss Ethel M. Hove; Oregon State College: Dr. S. P. Avann; University of Pennsylvania: Mr. E. A. Knobelauch; Queens College: Dr. Ruth O. Goodman, Dr. J. C. R. Li; Rutgers University: Mr. Max LeLeiko; University of Saskatchewan: Dr. W. J. R. Crosby.

Sir Arthur Eddington, professor of astronomy at Cambridge University, died November 21, 1944.

Professor G. D. Birkhoff of Harvard University died November 12, 1944. He had been a member of the Society since 1906.

Professor Paul Capron, formerly of the United States Naval Academy, died September 29, 1944, at the age of sixty-nine years. He had been a member of the Society for forty years.

Professor J. A. Shohat of the University of Pennsylvania died on October 8, 1944. He had been a member of the Society for twenty years.

Professor Emeritus C. L. Thornburg of Lehigh University died October 14, 1944, at the age of eighty-five years. He had been a member of the Society for twenty-one years.