NOTES

Mr. W. D. Lambert, formerly of the U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey, has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Science. He has also been awarded the William Bowie Medal for leadership in the study of earth sciences by the American Geophysical Union.

Professor Saunders MacLane of the University of Chicago has been elected to membership in the American Philosophical Society and the National Academy of Science.

Assistant Professor Wilfred Kaplan of the University of Michigan, Professor S. C. Kleene of the University of Wisconsin, Associate Professor G. W. Mackey of Harvard University, and Associate Professor J. W. Tukey of Princeton University have been awarded Guggenheim Fellowships.

Professor G. Elfving of the University of Helsingfors has been appointed to a visiting professorship of mathematical statistics at Cornell University.

Dr. Nachman Aronszajn of the National Center for Scientific Research in France has been appointed to a research professorship at Oklahoma Agricultural and Mechanical College.

Dr. A. L. Blakers of Princeton University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Lehigh University.

Dr. Mary L. Boas has been appointed lecturer at Wellesley College.

Dr. K. Chandrasekharan of the Institute for Advanced Study has been appointed to the position of reader in mathematics at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research.

Associate Professor John DeCicco of the Illinois Institute of Technology has been appointed to a visiting professorship at DePaul University.

Professor J. L. Doob of the University of Illinois is on leave of absence and will spend the coming academic year at Cornell University.

Professor H. L. Dorwart of Washington and Jefferson College has been appointed to the Seabury professorship of mathematics and natural philosophy, Trinity College.

Dr. Arthur Erdélyi of the University of Edinburgh has been appointed to a professorship at the California Institute of Technology.

Mr. F. H. Fowler of Lessells and Associates, Brighton, Massachusetts, has accepted a position as associate editor with the McGraw-Hill Publishing Company.

- Dr. S. W. Hahn of the University of Michigan has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Wittenberg College.
- Dr. I. I. Hirschman of Harvard University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Washington University.

Dr. Gilbert Hunt has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Cornell University.

Dr. Joseph Lehner of Hydrocarbon Research, Inc., New York City, has been appointed to an associate professorship at the University of Pennsylvania.

Miss Zung-nyi Loh of Wellesley College has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Wilson College.

Professor Dorothy McCoy of Belhaven College, Jackson, Mississippi, has been appointed to a professorship at Wayland College, Plainview, Texas.

Professor H. B. Mann of Ohio State University has accepted a position at the Applied Mathematics Laboratory of the National Bureau of Standards.

- Mr. E. P. Miles of Duke University has been appointed to an associate professorship at Alabama Polytechnic Institute.
- Dr. C. W. Moran of Wright Junior College has been appointed lecturer at DePaul University.

Assistant Professor F. M. Pulliam of the University of Kentucky has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the U. S. Naval Postgraduate School.

Dr. J. M. Sachs of Chicago Teachers College has been appointed lecturer at DePaul University.

Professor Emeritus E. W. Sheldon of the University of Alberta has been appointed to an interim professorship at Acadia University.

Mr. W. B. Stovall of the University of Florida has accepted a position as statistician with the Bureau of Vital Statistics, Florida State Board of Health.

Associate Professor G. W. Whitehead of Brown University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Dr. Daniel Zelinsky of the Institute for Advanced Study has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Northwestern University.

The following promotions are announced:

- J. H. Bell, Michigan State College, to an associate professorship.
- J. D. Hill, Michigan State College, to a professorship.

Leo Katz, Michigan State College, to an associate professorship.

Mary D. Kirby, Manhattanville College of the Sacred Heart, to a professorship.

Norman Levinson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, to a professorship.

Eric Reissner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, to a professorship.

J. R. Vatnsdal, State College of Washington, to a professorship.

The following appointment to an instructorship is announced: Pennsylvania State College, Miss Helen F. Story.

Professor A. Buhl of the University of Toulouse died March 24, 1949, at the age of seventy-one years.

Professor William Threlfall of the University of Heidelberg died on April 4, 1949, at the age of sixty years.

Professor Helen A. Merrill of Wellesley College died on May 2, 1949, at the age of eighty-six years. She had been a member of the Society for forty-six years.