NOTES

UNESCO Book Coupons may be sent directly to the Society in payment for its publications. A folder describing these coupons and listing the countries in which they are available may be obtained from the Society upon request.

An Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics has been founded in Rio de Janeiro by the National Research Council of Brazil. The new institution will sponsor the publication of the principal Brazilian mathematical journal Summa Brasiliensis Mathematicae, and the noted mathematician and astronomer Dr. Lelio I. Gama has been appointed Director of the Institute, whose address is Caixa Postal 46, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The National Science Foundation has announced grants in mathematics to the following institutions, to support studies by the professors indicated: Brown University, Herbert Federer, David Gale, and Bjarni Jónsson; Columbia University, Claude Chevalley, E. R. Kolchin; Cornell University, Paul Olum; State University of Iowa, H. T. Muhly; University of Pennsylvania, R. D. Schafer; University of Southern California, L. A. Henkin; University of Washington, F. H. Brownell; University of Wisconsin, R. H. Bing, L. C. Young.

Professor A. A. Albert of the University of Chicago has been elected to a corresponding membership in the Academia Brasileira de Ciências.

Dr. Leila A. Dragonette of the University of Chicago has received the 1952 Research Award given by Sigma Delta Epsilon, Graduate Women's Scientific Fraternity, for the best research paper submitted by a member.

Dr. E. C. Molina has been awarded the Cressan Medal by the Franklin Institute in recognition of his contributions to telephony.

Professor Rolf Gran-Olsson of the Norwegian Institute of Technology is on leave of absence and has been appointed to a visiting professorship at Brown University.

Professor F. W. Levi of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research has been appointed to a professorship at the Free University of Berlin.

Dr. E. L. Arnoff of the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics has accepted a position as research associate with the Operations Research Group, Case Institute of Technology.

Associate Professor E. W. Barankin of the University of California, Berkeley has been appointed to an associate professorship at the University of California, Los Angeles. Dr. D. R. Belcher of the American Telephone and Telegraph Company has retired.

Mr. James Bercos of the Naval Ordnance Plant, Macon, Georgia, has accepted a position as personnel statistician with the Lockheed Aircraft Company, Marietta, Georgia.

Miss Marion Clarke of the University of Nebraska has accepted a position as research mathematician with the Ballistic Research Laboratories, Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland.

Mr. G. R. Costello of the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics has accepted a position as aerophysics project engineer with Chance-Vought Aircraft, Dallas, Texas.

Mr. G. P. Dinneen of the Goodyear Aircraft Corporation has accepted a position as staff member with the Lincoln Laboratories, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Mr. R. P. Eddy of the Naval Ordnance Laboratory, Silver Spring, Maryland, has accepted a position as mathematician with the David Taylor Model Basin, Washington, D. C.

Dr. B. G. Farley of the Bell Telephone Laboratories has accepted a position with the Digital Computer Laboratory, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Professor A. H. Fox of Union College is on leave of absence and has been appointed a consultant at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

Mr. R. D. Glauz of Brown University has been appointed a staff member at the Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory.

Mr. J. V. Harrison of the Eckhart-Mauchly Computer Corporation has accepted a position as head of the Computation Laboratory, Operations Research Office, Chevy Chase, Maryland.

Professor I. O. Horsfall of the University of Utah has retired with the titles professor emeritus and director emeritus of the Extension Division.

Professor W. G. Hubert of City College, New York City, has retired with the title professor emeritus.

Dr. M. P. Jarnagin of the University of Maryland has accepted a position as mathematician with the Naval Aviation Ordnance Test Station, Chincoteague, Virginia.

Assistant Professor E. R. Keown of the Florida State University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas.

Dean H. R. Kingston of the University of Western Ontario has retired.

Mr. C. C. Miesse of the Battelle Memorial Institute has accepted a

position as mathematical physicist with the Aerojet Engineering Corporation, Azusa, California.

Associate Professor A. N. Milgram of Syracuse University has been appointed to an associate professorship at the University of Minnesota.

Professor Knox Millsaps of the Alabama Polytechnic Institute has accepted a position as assistant chief scientist with the Flight Research Laboratory, Wright Air Development Center, Dayton, Ohio.

Professor E. E. Moots of Cornell College has retired with the title professor emeritus.

Professor H. M. Sheffer of Harvard University has retired with the title professor emeritus.

Dean Emeritus T. M. Simpson of the University of Florida has been appointed a consultant in general education, at Henderson State Teachers College, Arkadelphia, Arkansas.

Mr. H. W. Stephens of Columbia University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Ball State Teachers College.

Associate Professor E. W. Titt of the University of Texas is on leave of absence and has been appointed to a visiting associate professorship at Indiana University.

Associate Professor J. I. Tracey of Yale University has retired with the title professor emeritus.

The following promotions are announced:

A. B. Cunningham, West Virginia University, to an associate professorship.

A. M. Feyerham, Iowa State College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts, to an assistant professorship.

Irving Kaplansky, University of Chicago, to an associate professorship.

K. B. Leisenring, University of Michigan, to an assistant professorship.

E. A. Lew, Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, to an associate actuary and statistician.

The following appointments to instructorships are announced: Dartmouth College: Mr. E. L. Whitney; University of Maryland: Dr. H. S. Collins; Ohio State University: Dr. R. C. Fisher.

President Emeritus H. N. Davis of the Stevens Institute of Technology died on November 3, 1952 at the age of seventy-one years. He had been a member of the Society for fifty years.

Professor M. W. Dehn of Black Mountain College died on June 27, 1952, at the age of seventy-four years.

19531

NOTES

Professor Emeritus E. V. Huntington of Harvard University died on November 25, 1952 at the age of seventy-nine years. He had been a member of the Society for fifty-one years.

Dr. F. R. Moulton died on December 7, 1952, at the age of eighty years. He was a member of the Society for forty-eight years.

Assistant Professor J. D. Newburgh of the Tulane University of Louisiana died on January 3, 1953 at the age of thirty-two years.

Professor Leigh Page of Yale University died on September 14, 1952 at the age of sixty-eight years. He had been a member of the Society for thirty-two years.

Professor T. R. Running of the University of Michigan died on October 10, 1952 at the age of eighty-six years. He had been a member of the Society for forty-nine years.

The note concerning Harold W. Kuhn which appeared on page 686 of the November 1952 issue of the Bulletin should read as follows: Dr. Harold W. Kuhn of Princeton University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Bryn Mawr College.

The note concerning the promotion of G. G. Lorentz on page 690 of the November 1952 issue of the Bulletin is in error. Professor Lorentz has been an assistant professor since June 1951.

196