BULLETIN

OF THE

AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

EDITED BY

W. T. MARTIN G. B. PRICE

WITH THE ASSISTANCE OF R. P. BOAS, JR.

VOLUME 60, NUMBER 6 NOVEMBER, 1954 (Whole No. 633)

CONTENTS

The Theory of Dynamic Programming. By RICHARD BELLMAN.	503
The Summer Meeting in Laramie. By W. T. PUCKETT	516
Report of the Treasurer. By A. E. MEDER, JR	563
Book Reviews	569
Research Problems	589
Errata, Volume 59	589
Errata, Volume 60	589
Representatives and Committees of the Society	590
By-Laws of the American Mathematical Society	596
Index to Volume 60	603

PUBLISHED BY THE SOCIETY MENASHA, WIS., AND PROVIDENCE, R.I.

AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

General Office: 80 Waterman Street, Providence 6, R. I.

Executive Director: Dr. J. H. Curtiss.

Editorial Office, Mathematical Reviews: 80 Waterman Street, Providence 6, R.I. Executive Editor: Dr. J. V. Wehausen.

Officers and Editors:

President: Professor G. T. Whyburn, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Va. President Elect: Professor R. L. Wilder, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich. Secretary: Professor E. G. Begle, Yale University, New Haven 11, Conn. Associate Secretaries:

Professor L. W. Cohen, National Science Foundation, Washington 25, D.C. Professor J. W. Green, University of California, Los Angeles 24, Calif.

Professor J. H. Roberts, Duke University, Durham, N.C.
Professor J. W. T. Youngs, Indiana University, Bloomington, Ind.
Treasurer: Dean A. E. Meder, Jr., Rutgers University, New Brunswick, N.J.
Managing Editor of the Bulletin: Professor W. T. Martin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge 39, Mass.

Managing Editor of the Proceedings: Professor A. C. Schaeffer, University of Wis-

consin, Madison 6, Wis.

Managing Editor of the Transactions and Memoirs: Professor L. V. Ahlfors, Harvard University, Cambridge 38, Mass.

Chairman, Mathematical Reviews Editorial Committee: Professor Einar Hille,

Yale University, New Haven, Conn. Chairman, Colloquium Editorial Committee: Professor Deane Montgomery, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, N.J.

Chairman, Mathematical Surveys Editorial Committee: Professor R. J. Walker, Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.

Chairman, Proceedings of Symposia in Applied Mathematics Editorial Committee: Professor R. V. Churchill, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich. Representatives of the Society on the Board of Editors of the American Journal of Mathematics:

Professor E. R. Kolchin, Columbia University, New York 27, N.Y.

Professor Reinhold Baer, University of Illinois, Urbana, Ill.

Chairman, Committee on Printing and Publishing: Dean C. J. Rees, University of Delaware, Newark, Del.

The annual dues of members of the Society (see this BULLETIN, November, 1954, pp. 600-601) are payable to the Treasurer of the Society, A. E. Meder, Jr., 80 Waterman Street, Providence 6, R.I.

The BULLETIN OF THE AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY is published bimonthly, in January, March, May, July, September, and November. Price per annual volume is \$7.00. Subscriptions, orders for back numbers, and inquiries in regard to non-delivery of current numbers should be addressed to the American Mathematical Society, 450 Ahnaip Street, Menasha, Wis., or 80 Waterman Street, Providence 6, R.I.

Entered as second class matter April 24, 1926, at the post office at Menasha, Wis. under the act of August 24, 1912. Acceptance for mailing at the special rate of postage provided for in the act of February 28, 1925, embodied in paragraph 4, section 538, P.L. and R., authorized May 9, 1935.

> Copyright, American Mathematical Society, 1955 Printed in the United States of America