VOLUME 72 (Whole No. 701)

NUMBER 2 MARCH, 1966

## BULLETIN

of the

## AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

## Edited by

FELIX BROWDER E. H. SPANIER
MURRAY GERSTENHABER

Published by the American Mathematical Society

PROVIDENCE, RHODE ISLAND

## AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

General Office: P.O. Box 6248, Providence, Rhode Island 02904 Executive Director: G. L. Walker

Editorial Offices: P.O. Box 6248, Providence, Rhode Island 02904 Executive Editor Mathematical Reviews: W. J. LeVeque Editor Translation Projects: Dr. S. H. Gould

Officers and Editors:

President: Professor A. A. Albert, Eckhart Hall, University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois 60637.

President Elect: Professor C. B. Morrey, Department of Mathematics, University of California, Berkeley, California 94720.

Secretary, Professor J. W. Green, Department of Mathematics, University of

California, Los Angeles, California 90024.

Associate Secretaries:

Professor R. S. Pierce, Department of Mathematics, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington 98105.

Professor O. G. Harrold, Department of Mathematics, Florida State University, Tallahassee, Florida 32306.

Professor Everett Pitcher, Department of Mathematics, Lehigh University, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania 18015.

Professor Seymour Sherman, Department of Mathematics, Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana 47405.

Treasurer: Professor W. T. Martin, Department of Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139.

Managing Editor of the Bulletin: Professor Felix Browder, Department of Mathe-

matics, University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois 60637.

Managing Editor of the Proceedings: Professor Eldon Dyer, Department of Mathe-

matics, Rice University, Houston, Texas 77001.

Managing Editor of the Transactions: Professor R. C. Buck, Department of Mathematics, Madison, Wisconsin 53705. Chairman, Mathematical Reviews Editorial Committee: Professor P. R. Halmos,

Department of Mathematics, University of Miami, Coral Gables, Florida, 33124.

Chairman, Colloquium Editorial Committee: Professor Norman Steenrod, Fine Hall, Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey 08540.

Chairman, Mathematical Surveys Committee: Professor Edwin Hewitt, Depart-

ment of Mathematics, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington 98105.
Chairman, Mathematics of Computation Editorial Committee: Professor Eugene Isaacson, University Computing Center, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, New York, New York 10012.

Representatives of the Society on the Board of Editors of the American Journal of Mathematics:

Professor Stephen Smale, Department of Mathematics, University of California, Berkeley, California 94720.

Professor G. D. Mostow, Department of Mathematics, Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut 06520.

The annual dues of members of the Society (see this Bulletin, November, 1964, pp. 837-838) are payable to the American Mathematical Society, P.O. Box 6248, Providence, Rhode Island 02904.

The BULLETIN OF THE AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY is published bimonthly, in January, March, May, July, September, and November. Price per annual volume is \$7.00. Subscriptions, orders for back numbers, and inquiries in regard to non-delivery of current numbers should be addressed to the American Mathematical Society, P.O. Box 6248, Providence, Rhode Island 02904.

Second-class postage paid at Providence, Rhode Island and additional mailing offices. Acceptance for mailing at the special rate of postage provided for in the act of February 28, 1925, embodied in paragraph 4, Section 538, P. L. and R., authorized May 9, 1935.