THE NOVEMBER MEETING IN EVANSTON

The six hundred sixty-second meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held on Saturday, November 30, 1968, at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois. All sessions were held in the lecture rooms of the Technological Institute of Northwestern University. There were 164 registrants, including 147 members of the Society.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Speakers for Western Sectional Meetings, there were two one-hour addresses. Professor Donald G. Higman of the University of Michigan spoke on the topic Finite permutation groups of small rank. He was introduced by Professor John H. Walter. Professor Wu-Yi Hsiang of the University of California, Berkeley, addressed the Society on the subject Recent developments in compact differentiable transformation groups. He was introduced by Professor Richard L. Bishop. By invitation of the same committee there were two special sessions of twenty-minute papers. Professor Antoni Zygmund of the University of Chicago arranged one such session on the subject of differentiation theory; papers were presented by Andrew M. Bruckner and Melvin Rosenfeld, Casper Goffman, Lee A. Rubel and Marvin C. Gaer, James B. Serrin, and Norman J. Weiss. Professor Hans Zassenhaus of The Ohio State University arranged the other special session on the subject of Computational Methods in Abstract Algebra; the papers presented were by J. Sutherland Frame, Graham Higman and John McKay, Charles C. Sims, Olga Taussky, and Hans J. Zassenhaus. There were also three sessions of contributed ten-minute papers. These three sessions were chaired by Professors Kenneth R. Mount, Ralph P. Boas, Jr., and W. Forrest Stinespring.

On Friday, November 29, 1968, the day before the meeting, Northwestern University sponsored a symposium on Toeplitz Operators and Wiener-Hopf Equations. Papers were presented by Professor I. I. Hirschman, Jr. of Washington University and Duke University, Professor Marvin Rosenblum of the University of Virginia, Professor Ronald G. Douglas of the University of Michigan, Professor Albert E. Heins of the University of Michigan, Professors Michael E. Fisher of Cornell University and Robert Hartwig of North Carolina State University, Professor Henry Helson of the University of California, Berkeley, Professor Douglas N. Clark of the University of California, Los Angeles, and Professor Marvin Shinbrot of Northwestern University.

URBANA, ILLINOIS

Paul T. Bateman Associate Secretary