## THE NOVEMBER MEETING IN MILWAUKEE

The six hundred ninetieth meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, on Saturday, November 27, 1971. There were 198 registrants, including 145 members of the Society.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Western Sectional Meetings, there were two one-hour addresses. Professor Raghavan Narasimhan of the University of Chicago addressed the Society on the subject *Deformations of principal bundles*; he was introduced by Professor Wilhelm F. Stoll. Professor Mary-Ellen Rudin of the University of Wisconsin-Madison spoke on the topic *Set theory and general topology*; Professor Marvin I. Knopp presided at Professor Rudin's lecture.

By invitation of the same committee there were three special sessions of selected twenty-minute papers, each of which met both morning and afternoon. Professor Morris Marden of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee arranged one such session on the subject of Function Theory; Professor Benjamin Lepson and Professor Frederick W. Gehring presided during the morning, while Professor Bo Kjellberg and Professor Walter Rudin presided during the afternoon. The speakers were Stephen B. Agard, Patrick R. Ahern, Herbert J. Alexander, Albert Baernstein II, Peter L. Duren, Stephen D. Fisher, Michael B. Freeman, Simon Hellerstein, Albert Marden, Joseph B. Miles, Ricardo Nirenberg, Walter J. Schneider, and Daniel F. Shea. A special session on Transformation Groups was arranged and chaired by Professor Frank A. Raymond of the University of Michigan. The speakers were Gary C. Hamrick, Hsu-Tung Ku, Ronnie Lee, Reinhard E. Schultz, Tatsuo Suwa, and Philip D. Wagreich. The third special session was arranged by Professor Thomas G. McLaughlin of the University of Illinois on the subject of Recursion Theory. The speakers were Louise Hay, Carl G. Jockusch, Jr., Alistair H. Lachlan, Manuel Lerman, Michael A. Machtey, Thomas G. McLaughlin, Yiannis N. Moschovakis, James C. Owings, Jr., Marian Boykan Pour-El, Gerald E. Sacks, Robert I. Soare, and Hisao Tanaka; Professor McLaughlin presided throughout.

There were four sessions of contributed ten-minute papers. These were chaired by Professors I. David Berg, Edmund H. Feller, Donald A. Lutz, and Edward P. Merkes. Of the 23 ten-minute papers listed in the program of the meeting, two were presented by title; one late paper was added to the program, so that 22 ten-minute papers were actually presented.

On Friday afternoon, November 26, 1971, the day before the meeting itself, the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee sponsored a symposium on

the subject "Function Theory in the 1970's". This symposium was a part of the dedication ceremonies of the new Science Complex, which now houses the Department of Mathematics. The speakers and their titles were as follows: Professor Robert C. Gunning, Princeton University, Compact Riemann surfaces: some new problems in an old field; Professor Frederick W. Gehring, University of Michigan, Function theory in higher dimensional Euclidean spaces; Professor Walter Rudin, University of Wisconsin-Madison, A new look at some old theorems. In addition, the special session on Function Theory mentioned earlier was an extension of this symposium.

PAUL T. BATEMAN Associate Secretary

URBANA, ILLINOIS