With the support of the Office of Naval Research, a Symposium on Stochastic Differential Equations was held on Wednesday and Thursday, March 29 and 30. This topic was selected by the AMS-SIAM Committee on Applied Mathematics whose members are: Donald G. M. Anderson, Hirsh G. Cohen, Joaquin B. Diaz, Stanislaw M. Ulam, Richard S. Varga (chairman), and Calvin H. Wilcox. The organizing Committee consisted of the cochairmen: Joseph B. Keller and Henry P. McKean, Jr. Hour addresses were given by Professor Richard S. Bucy of the University of Southern California; Professor Wendell H. Fleming of Brown University; Professor Bruce Knight of Rockefeller University; Professor Melvin Lax of the City College of the City University of New York; Professor Henry P. McKean, Jr., of the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University; Dr. John A. Morrison of Bell Telephone Laboratories; Professor George Papanicolau of the Department of Mathematics, University Heights, and Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University; and Professor P. P. Varaiya of the University of California, Berkeley. The four sessions were chaired by Professors William E. Boyce, Avner Friedman, Joseph B. Keller, and Henry P. McKean, Jr. As prelude to the Symposium, Professor Morris Schreiber of Rockefeller University performed the J. S. Bach Prelude No. 1 on the piano.

The Metropolitan New York Section of the Mathematical Association of America held a one-day meeting on Tuesday March 28 in the Music Room of the Biltmore Hotel.

MIDDLETOWN, CONNECTICUT

WALTER GOTTSCHALK ASSOCIATE SECRETARY

## THE APRIL MEETING IN ST. LOUIS

The six hundred ninety-third meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at St. Louis University, St. Louis, Missouri, from Monday, March 27 to Saturday, April 1, 1972, in conjunction with the 1972 spring meeting of the Association for Symbolic Logic. There were 385 registrants, including 334 members of the Society.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Western Sectional Meetings, there were four one-hour addresses. Professor Wolfgang M. Schmidt of the University of Colorado spoke Friday morning on *Irregularities of distribution in Euclidean space and on the sphere.* He was introduced by the Associate Secretary. Professor Allen Devinatz of Northwestern University addressed the Society on Friday afternoon, with Professor I. I. Hirschman, Jr. presiding. Professor Devinatz's subject was *The deficiency index problem for ordinary self-*

adjoint differential operators. Professor Lawrence Markus of the University of Minnesota, who was introduced by Professor Felix R. Albrecht, spoke Saturday morning. Professor Markus's talk was entitled *Lie dynamical systems*. Professor Gilbert Baumslag of Rice University addressed the Society on Saturday afternoon. His topic was *Groups with a single defining relation*; he was introduced by Professor Franklin Haimo.

By invitation of the same committee, there were five special sessions of selected twenty-minute papers. The Associate Secretary arranged one such session on the subject of Analytic Number Theory, as an extension of the Symposium described below. This session met Friday morning, Friday afternoon, and Saturday morning and presented the following speakers: Paul T. Bateman, Ronald J. Evans, Janos Galambos, J. M. Gandhi, Wlodzimierz Holsztyński, Derrick H. Lehmer (replacing Marvin I. Knopp), Carlos J. Moreno, George B. Purdy, Lawrence J. Risman, Robert S. Spira, Kenneth B. Stolarsky, Henry E. Thomas, Jr., and Jack P. Tull. Professor Bateman presided Friday morning and Saturday morning, while Professor Lehmer presided Friday afternoon. Professor William M. Boothby of Washington University organized a special session meeting at the same times on the subject of Differential Geometry; the speakers were Richard L. Bishop, James B. Carrell, Lawrence W. Conlon, Robert B. Gardner, Stephen J. Greenfield, Franz W. Kamber, Wu-Hsiung Huang, Richard S. Millman, Howard A. Osborn, William F. Pohl, Nolan R. Wallach, and Frank W. Warner III. Professor Boothby presided Friday morning and Saturday morning, while Professor David E. Blair presided Friday afternoon. Another special session, held Friday afternoon and Saturday morning, was arranged by Professor Saunders Mac Lane of the University of Chicago on the subject of Category Theory; the speakers were Eduardo J. Dubuc, John W. Duskin, Jr., John W. Gray, John R. Isbell, Paul C. Kainen, Fred. E. J. Linton, Ernest G. Manes, William J. Mitchell, and Joan M. Negrepontis. Professor Mac Lane presided throughout. Professor Lee A. Rubel of the University of Illinois organized and chaired a special session held Saturday on the subject of Vector Spaces of Analytic Functions; the speakers were Patrick R. Ahern, Earl R. Berkson, James G. Caughran, Ronald R. Coifman, Richard M. Crownover, Charles L. Fefferman, Stephen D. Fisher, Joel H. Shapiro, Allen L. Shields, and B. A. Taylor. The fifth special session, held Saturday afternoon, was arranged by Professor Thomas E. Storer of the University of Michigan on the subject of Combinatorial Theory; the speakers were George W. Dinolt, John R. Doner, Eugene C. Johnsen, David W. Matula, and Richard J. Turyn. Professor Storer presided throughout.

There were seven sessions of contributed ten-minute papers. These were chaired by Raymond Balbes, Astrid J. Berkson, Earl R. Berkson, Deborah T. Haimo, Louise Hay, Karen K. Uhlenbeck, and Guido L. Weiss. Of the

42 ten-minute papers listed in the program, 8 were presented by title; two late papers were added to the program, so that 36 ten-minute papers were actually presented.

## SYMPOSIUM ON ANALYTIC NUMBER THEORY

With the support of the National Science Foundation, there was a symposium on Analytic Number Theory on Monday through Thursday, March 27-30. This topic was chosen by the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Western Sectional Meetings, which during 1971 consisted of Paul T. Bateman (chairman), Roger C. Lyndon, and Lawrence Markus. The Organizing Committee of the symposium, responsible for the planning of the program and the choice of speakers, consisted of Harold G. Diamond (chairman), Patrick X. Gallagher, Hugh L. Montgomery, Wolfgang M. Schmidt, and Harold M. Stark. The speakers at the Symposium were Alan Baker, Bruce C. Berndt, Enrico Bombieri, John Coates, Harold G. Diamond, Peter D. T. A. Elliott, Patrick X. Gallagher, Larry J. Goldstein, Emil Grosswald, Douglas A. Hensley, Christopher Hooley, Martin N. Huxley, Wolfgang B. Jurkat, Donald J. Lewis, Kurt Mahler. Hugh L. Montgomery, Harald G. Niederreiter, Karl K. Norton, Andrew P. Ogg, Walter V. Philipp, Hans-Egon Richert, Klaus F. Roth, Charles A. Ryavec, Daniel Shanks, Harold M. Stark, Judith S. Sunley, Paul Turán, Robert C. Vaughan, and Peter J. Weinberger.

URBANA, ILLINOIS

PAUL T. BATEMAN
Associate Secretary

## THE APRIL MEETING IN BERKELEY

The six hundred ninety-fourth meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at the University of California, Berkeley, California, on Saturday, April 22, 1972. There were 130 registrants including 109 members of the Society.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Far Western Meetings, there were two one-hour addresses. Professor Roger Richardson of the University of Washington gave a lecture entitled *On the variation of isotropy subgroups*. He was introduced by Professor Hans Samelson. Professor Joseph L. Taylor of the University of Utah spoke on *Functions of several noncommuting variables*; he was introduced by Professor William B. Arveson.

There were seven sessions of contributed papers. They were chaired by Professors William B. Arveson, Grant B. Gustafson, John Rhodes, Donald W. Robinson, Roy W. Ryden, Takayuki Tamura and John B. Wagoner.

Kenneth Ross
Associate Secretary