AWM Awards Presented in Washington, DC

The Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) presented two prizes during the Joint Mathematics Meetings in Washington, DC, in January 2000.

Louise Hay Award

In 1990 the Executive Committee of the AWM established the annual Louise Hay Award for Contributions to Mathematics Education. The purpose of this award is to recognize outstanding achievements in any area of mathematics education, to be interpreted in the broadest possible sense. While Louise Hay was widely recognized for her contributions to mathematical logic and for her strong leadership as head of the Department of Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Chicago, her devotion to students and her lifelong commitment to nurturing the talent of young women and men secure her reputation as a consummate educator. The annual presentation of this award is intended to highlight the importance of mathematics education and to evoke the memory of all that Hay exemplified as a teacher, scholar, administrator, and human being.

Joan Ferrini-Mundy of Michigan State University received the 2000 Hay Award. "Ferrini-Mundy is both a leader and a scholar," the citation states. "She is one of the leading intellectual authorities on the broad landscape of mathematics education in the United States, and a leading researcher in teacher education and development, and reform. Her knowledge, strong organizational skills, and ability to listen to and understand people from different intellectual communities have enabled her to lead, administer, and implement numerous organizational initiatives, at every scale."

Ferrini-Mundy is the chair of the Writing Group for *Standards 2000*, the update of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics *Standards*.

Prior to going to Michigan State she served as director of the Mathematical Sciences Education Board and associate executive director of the Center for Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Education at the National Research Council.

Alice T. Schafer Prize

In 1990 the Executive Committee of the AWM established the annual Alice T. Schafer Prize for excellence in mathematics by an undergraduate woman. The prize is named for former AWM president and one of its founding members Alice T. Schafer (emerita of Wellesley College), who has contributed a great deal to women in mathematics throughout her career.

MARIANA E. CAMPBELL, a senior at the University of California, San Diego, received the 2000 Schafer Prize. The citation states: "After distinguishing herself ('best in the class') as a junior in both undergraduate and graduate classes at UCSD, Ms. Campbell participated in the Mount Holyoke REU program, where the faculty described her as 'astonishing'." At the program she wrote a paper entitled "The Igusa local zeta function for the different reduction types of the special fiber of an elliptic curve", which is currently being revised for publication. In addition to her mathematical achievements, Campbell is a talented violinist. The citation concludes, "The consensus is that Ms. Campbell has 'the drive, intellect, and creativity to become a leading mathematician.' She is 'remarkable' and 'someone who will make a difference in the lives of those around her down the line."

-From AWM prize announcements