Skip to Main Content

Chevalley Prize in Lie Theory

Photo Courtesy of Archives de l'Académie des Sciences - Institut de France
The Chevalley Prize is awarded for notable work in Lie Theory published during the preceding six years; a recipient should be at most twenty-five years past the Ph.D.

About this Prize

The Chevalley Prize was established in 2014 by George Lusztig to honor Claude Chevalley (1909-1984). Chevalley was a founding member of the Bourbaki group. He made fundamental contributions to class field theory, algebraic geometry, and group theory. His three-volume treatise on Lie groups served as standard reference for many decades. His classification of semisimple groups over an arbitrary algebraically closed field provides a link between Lie''s theory of continuous groups and the theory of finite groups, to the enormous enrichment of both subjects.

The current prize amount is US$8000, awarded in even-numbered years, without restriction on society membership, citizenship, or venue of publication.

Most Recent Prize: 2022

The 2022 Chevalley Prize in Lie Theory will be awarded to Xuhua He for his substantial advances in at least three directions of Lie Theory: the study of the cocenter of Hecke algebras of p-adic groups, the study of affine Deligne-Lusztig varieties and the theory of modular representations of semisimple groups.

Prize announcement as seen in the news release.

See previous winners

Next Prize:  January 2024

Nomination Period:  1 February - 31 May

Nomination Procedure: 

Submit a letter of nomination, complete bibliographic citations for the work being nominated, and a brief citation that might be used in the event that the nomination is successful.

Nominate a colleague