JPBM Communications Award

This award is given each year to reward and encourage communicators who, on a sustained basis, bring mathematical ideas and information to non-mathematical audiences.

About this Award

This award was established by the Joint Policy Board for Mathematics (JPBM) in 1988.  JPBM  is a collaborative effort of the American Mathematical Society, the Mathematical Association of America, the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, and the American Statistical Association.

Up to two awards of US$2,000 are made annually.  Both mathematicians and non-mathematicians are eligible.

Most Recent Award: 2022

Talithia Williams, an associate professor of mathematics at Harvey Mudd College, has won the 2022 Joint Policy Board for Mathematics (JPBM) Communications Award for bringing mathematics and statistics into the homes and hands of millions through her work as a TV host, renowned speaker, and author.

Award announcement as seen in the news release.

See previous winners

Next Award:  January 2023

Nomination Period:  Open

Nomination Procedure: 

Nominations should be submitted on Note: Nominations collected before September 15th in year N, will be considered for an award in year N+2.

Please contact the AMS Secretary Office,, with questions.