Skip to Main Content

Karl Menger Memorial Awards

Photo from the MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive.
The Karl Menger Award is given to pre-college students in mathematics as well as mathematically-oriented projects in computer science, physics, and engineering at the Regeneron International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) .

About this Award

The family of the late Karl Menger was the major contributor to funds established at Duke University and the AMS. An anonymous donor generously augmented the fund in 2008. The majority of the income from these funds is used by the Society for annual awards at the International Science and Engineering Fair.

The awards are: \$2000 for first prize; \$1000 for each second prize; \$500 for each third prize.

Most Recent Award: 2024

The American Mathematical Society presented the Karl Menger Awards at the 2024 Regeneron International Science and Engineering Fair (Regeneron ISEF) on May 17. The winners are high-school students who earned the right to compete at the Regeneron ISEF by winning a top prize at a local, regional, state, or national science fair. All winners received a booklet on Karl Menger and a one-year membership to the AMS.

Quang Tran of Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy, Harvey, LA was awarded the first-place prize of $2,000 for Divisors.

The Menger Award Committee also presented the following awards:

Second awards ($1,000): Anna Oliva, Carnegie Vanguard High School, Houston, TX, Symmetry, Fixed Points and Quantum Billiards and Emma Rueter, Leibniz-Gymnasium Berlin, Berlin, Germany, Integration of Sequences

Third awards ($500): Arda Ozcelebi, Izmir Ozel Ege Lisesi, Izmir, Turkey, p-Euler-phi Partitions and Their Properties; Yoonsang Lee, Korea Science Academy of KAIST, Seoul, South Korea, A Study on Arc Index of Theta Curves; Anay Aggarwal and Manu Isaacs, Jesuit High School, Portland, OR, Fast Modular Exponentiation With Factored Modulus; Helena Welch, Los Alamos High School, Los Alamos, NM, Modeling an Ancient Musical Instrument

Certificates of Honorable Mention: Yunjia Quan, Charlotte Country Day School, Charlotte, NC, Enhancing Ethereum's Security With LUMEN; Austin Luo, Morgantown High School, Morgantown, WV, Injective Chromatic Index of Packet Radio Networks; Ayush Jain, Shri Ram School - Aravali Campus, Gugaon, Haryana, India, Detecting Causality Using Symplectic Quandles; Joseph Vulakh, Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, Lexington, KY, Twisted Homogeneous Racks; Arav Chand, Half Hollow Hills High School West, Dix Hills, NY, Proofs of Fibonacci Analogues of Two Theorems; Songtianze Huang, Hangzhou Foreign Languages School, Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China, Group of seventh chord transformations; Sarah Lu, Centro Residencial de Oportunidades Educativas de Mayaguez, Mayaguez, Puerto Rico, Enhancing Federated Learning Using Math and Coding.


Award annoucement as seen in the news release.

Award announcement as seen in the news release.

See previous winners

Next Award:  May 2025