Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition (1993 - present)

The Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition is awarded for a book or substantial survey or expository research paper.

See also:

Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Seminal Contribution to Research
Leroy P. Steele Prize (1970 - 1992)

About this Prize

These prizes were established in 1970 in honor of George David Birkhoff, William Fogg Osgood, and William Caspar Graustein, and are endowed under the terms of a bequest from Leroy P. Steele. From 1970 to 1976 one or more prizes were awarded each year for outstanding published mathematical research; most favorable consideration was given to papers distinguished for their exposition and covering broad areas of mathematics. In 1977 the Council of the AMS modified the terms under which the prizes are awarded. In 1993, the Council formalized the three categories of the prize by naming each of them: (1) The Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement; (2) The Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition; and (3) The Leroy P. Steele Prize for Seminal Contribution to Research. 

The amount of this prize is US$5,000.

Most Recent Prize: 2020

Martin R. Bridson and André Haefliger are honored for their book Metric Spaces of Non-positive Curvature, published by Springer-Verlag in 1999. Metric Spaces of Non-positive Curvature is the authoritative reference for a huge swath of modern geometric group theory.

Prize announcement as seen in the news release.

See previous winners

Next Prize:  January 2021

Nomination Deadline:  08 May 2021

Nomination Procedure: 

Nominations can be submitted between February 1 and March 31. Nominations for the Steele Prizes for Mathematical Exposition should include a letter of nomination, a complete bibliographic citation for the work being nominated, and a brief citation to be used in the event that the nomination is successful.  Nominations will remain active and receive consideration for three consecutive years. For questions about this award pleasecontact the AMS Secretary at ams_secretary@ncsu.edu.

Nominate a colleague