Levi L. Conant Prize

AMS Prizes, Awards, and Fellowships
Photo of Levi L. Conant courtesy of Worcester Polytechnic Institute
This prize was established in 2000 in honor of Levi L. Conant to recognize the best expository paper published in either the Notices of the AMS or the Bulletin of the AMS in the preceding five years.

About this Prize

Levi L. Conant was a mathematician and educator who spent most of his career as a faculty member at Worcester Polytechnic Institute.He was head of the mathematics department from 1908 until his death and served as interim president of WPI from 1911 to 1913. Conant was noted as an outstanding teacher and an active scholar. He published a number of articles in scientific journals and wrote four textbooks. His will provided for funds to be donated to the AMS upon the death of his wife.

Prize winners are invited to present a public lecture at Worcester Polytechnic Institute as part of their Levi L. Conant Lecture Series, which was established in 2006. Find and download videos of previous Conant Lectures.

The Conant Prize is awarded annually in the amount of US$1,000.

Most Recent Prize: 2021

Dan Margalit receives the 2021 Levi L. Conant prize for the article "The Mathematics of Joan Birman," Notices of the AMS, 66 (2019), 341-353 . In just ten pages Margalit conveys the breadth and depth of the mathematics of Joan Birman.

Prize announcement as seen in the news release.

See previous winners

Next Prize:  January 2024

Nomination Period:  1 March - 30 June 2021

Nomination Procedure: 

Nominations with supporting information should be submitted online. Nominations should include a letter of nomination, a short description of the work that is the basis of the nomination a complete bibliographic citation for the article being nominated.

Nominate a colleague