Skip to Main Content

AMS-SIAM Norbert Wiener Prize in Applied Mathematics

Photo of Norbert Wiener courtesy of the MIT Museum
The Wiener Prize is awarded for an outstanding contribution to "applied mathematics in the highest and broadest sense."

About this Prize

This prize was established in 1967 in honor of Professor Norbert Wiener and was endowed by a fund from the Department of Mathematics of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The endowment was further supplemented by a generous donor.

Since 2004, the US$5,000 prize has been awarded every three years.The American Mathematical Society and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics award this prize jointly; To be eligible, a nominee must be a member of the American Mathematical Society or of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics in the year in which the nomination is made, and in each of the immediately prior three years (as of July 31 of each year) the nominee must have either been a member of the AMS or a member of SIAM.

Most Recent Prize: 2022

Eitan Tadmor, a Distinguished University Professor at the University of Maryland, College Park, will receive the 2022 AMS-SIAM Norbert Wiener Prize in Applied Mathematics for his original contributions to applied and numerical analysis with applications in fluid dynamics, image processing, and collective dynamics. The prize also recognizes the significant impact of his fundamental work in theory and computation of nonlinear partial differential equations.

See previous winners

Next Prize:  January 2025

Nomination Period:  1 February - 31 May

Nomination Procedure: 

Submit a letter of nomination describing the candidate's accomplishments including complete bibliographic citations for the work being nominated, a CV for the nominee, and a brief citation that explains why the work is important.

Nominate a colleague