Award for Distinguished Public Service

The Award for Distinguished Public Service recognizes a research mathematician who has made recent or sustained distinguished contributions to the mathematics profession through public service.

About this Award

The AMS Council established this award in response to a recommendation from its Committee on Science Policy.

The US$4,000 award is presented every two years.

Most Recent Award: 2020

The 2020 AMS Award for Distinguished Public Service is awarded to David Eisenbud, professor of mathematics at the University of California, Berkeley and director of the Mathematical Research Institute (MSRI), for his exceptional leadership and outreach efforts while director of MSRI, president of the AMS, and director for Mathematical and Physical Sciences at the Simons Foundation.

Award announcement as seen in the news release.

See previous winners

Next Award:  January 2022

Nomination Period:  1 March - 30 June 2021

Nomination Procedure: 

Submit a letter of nomination describing the candidate's accomplishments, a CV for the nominee, and a brief citation that explains why the work is important.

Nominate a colleague