Karl Menger Memorial Awards

Karl Menger Memorial Awards

Photo from the MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive.

The Karl Menger Award is given to pre-college students in mathematics as well as mathematically-oriented projects in computer science, physics, and engineering at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF).

About this Award:

The family of the late Karl Menger was the major contributor to a funds established at Duke University and the AMS. An anonymous donor generously augmented the fund in 2008. The majority of the income from these funds is used by the Society for annual awards at the International Science and Engineering Fair.

Prize Details:

For 2017 the awards are: \$2000 for first prize; \$1000 for each second prize; \$500 for each third prize.

Next Awards: May 2018

Most recent awards: 2017 – The 2017 Menger Awards went to (1st place) Griffin Macris; (2nd place) Matthew Hase-Liu, Savelii Novikov; (3rd place) Arjun Ramani, Yuan-Jung Juang, Dmitrii Mikhailovskii, Egor Morozov; (Honorable Mention) Dona-Maria Ivanova, Shilun Li, Alec Leng, Max Land, Gonen Zimmerman.

See previous prizes

American Mathematical Society