Award for Distinguished Public Service

The Award for Distinguished Public Service recognizes a research mathematician who has made recent or sustained distinguished contributions to the mathematics profession through public service.

About this Prize:

The AMS Council established this award in response to a recommendation from their Committee on Science Policy.

Award Details:
The \$4,000 award is presented every two years

Next Prize: January 2020

Nomination Period: 1 March – 30 June, 2019

Nomination Procedure: Submit a letter of nomination describing the candidate's accomplishments, a CV for the nominee, and a brief citation that explains why the work is important

Nominate a colleague

Most recent prize: 2018 — Sylvain Cappell, New York University, received the 2018 Award for Distinguished Service for his remarkable mentoring of talented young mathematicians, his dedication to protecting human rights, and his extraordinary involvement in outreach.

See previous prizes

American Mathematical Society