Stefan Bergman Prize

Stefan BergmanThe Bergman Prize honors the memory of Stefan Bergman, best known for his research in several complex variables, as well as the Bergman projection and the Bergman kernel function that bear his name. Awards are made every year or two in: 1) the theory of the kernel function and its applications in real and complex analysis; or 2) function-theoretic methods in the theory of partial differential equations of elliptic type with attention to Bergman's operator method.

History of the Prize
A native of Poland, Bergman (pictured) taught at Stanford University for many years and died in 1977 at the age of 82. He was an AMS member for 35 years. When his wife died, the terms of her will stipulated that funds should go toward a special prize in her husband's honor. The AMS was asked by the Wells Fargo Bank of California, the managers of the Bergman Trust, to assemble a committee to select recipients of the prize. In addition the Society assisted Wells Fargo in interpreting the terms of the will to assure sufficient breadth in the mathematical areas in which the prize may be given.

Next Prize


Nomination Period
1 March - 30 June 2017

Nomination Procedure
Nominations with supporting information should be submitted through this online form:

Most Recent Recipients
The 2016 Bergman Prize recipients are Charles L. Epstein, University of Pennsylvania, and François Trèves, Rutgers University. Epstein is honored for his fundamental contributions to the theory of embeddability and stability of 3-dimensional Cauchy-Riemann (CR) structures. Trèves is honored for his many fundamental contributions to several complex variables and partial differential equations.

See previous prizes

Photo by Paul Halmos.

American Mathematical Society