Mathematics Research Communities

MRC Week 1, June 2-8, 2019

Geometric Representation Theory and Equivariant Elliptic Cohomology


  • Dan Berwick-Evans, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Emily Cliff, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Nora Ganter, University of Melbourne
  • Arnav Tripathy, Harvard University
  • Joshua Jeishing Wen, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Advisor: Andrei Okounkov

One of the tried-and-true techniques in representation theory is to apply topological invariants to spaces built out of Lie groups. The workshop will study this paradigm where the invariant is equivariant elliptic cohomology. Elliptic cohomology has deep roots in homotopy theory, algebraic geometry, and mathematical physics. The resulting interplay has proven to be fertile territory, rich with intricate examples in many disciplines, including integrable systems, enumerative geometry, and elliptic algebras. The recent and ongoing understanding of the geometry of elliptic cohomology has revealed new conceptual understanding and computational tools. The focus of this workshop will be to apply these new Ideas to geometric representation theory. An ideal participant will have experience in one of the related areas, but need not have exposure to all of them. In particular, prior expertise in elliptic cohomology is not necessary. We look forward to bringing together advanced graduate students and postdocs from a mix of backgrounds for a workshop centered on cross-disciplinary interaction and collaboration.

An article by the organizers about this MRC topic appears in the February 2019 issue of Notices of the American Mathematical Society: Representation Theory and the Elliptic Frontier

The deadline for applications has passed.

For questions about the application process, please  contact Kim Kuda at the AMS.

Here is a list of individuals who participated in this conference:

  • Noah Arbesfeld
  • Eric Berry
  • Dominic L Culver
  • Stefano D'Alesio
  • Ivan Danilenko
  • Gurbir Singh Dhillon
  • Anne Dranowski
  • Timothy D Ferdinands
  • Benjamin Gammage
  • Meng Guo
  • Justin Reid Hilburn
  • Yakov Kononov
  • Davis Michael Lazowski
  • Henry Liu
  • Vitaly Lorman
  • Carl McTague
  • Dileep Menon
  • Mikayel Mkrtchyan
  • Apurva Nakade
  • David Christopher Oetjen
  • Oliver Pechenik
  • Matej Penciak
  • Emma Catherine Phillips
  • Petr Pushkar
  • Robert Joseph Rennie
  • Krishanu R Sankar
  • Andrew Senger
  • Alexander Sherman
  • Brian Y Shin
  • Yiyan Shou
  • Andrey Smirnov
  • Matthew Spong
  • German Stefanich
  • Kostiantyn Timchenko
  • Laura Wells
  • Dylan L Wilson
  • Yu Zhao
  • + three additional participants.