Skip to Main Content

Mathematics Programs that Make a Difference

This Award for Mathematics Programs that Make a Difference was established in 2005 by the AMS's Committee on the Profession to compile and publish a series of profiles of programs that:
  1. aim to bring more persons from underrepresented backgrounds into some portion of the pipeline beginning at the undergraduate level and leading to advanced degrees in mathematics and professional success, or retain them once in the pipeline;
  2. have achieved documentable success in doing so; and
  3. are potentially replicable models.

About this Award

This award brings recognition to outstanding programs that have successfully addressed the issues of underrepresented groups in mathematics. Examples of such groups include racial and ethnic minorities, women, low-income students, and first-generation college students.

One program is selected each year by a Selection Committee appointed by the AMS President and is awarded US$1,000 provided by the Mark Green and Kathryn Kert Green Fund for Inclusion and Diversity.

Preference is given to programs with significant participation by underrepresented minorities. Note that programs aimed at pre-college students are eligible only if there is a significant component of the program benefiting individuals from underrepresented groups at or beyond the undergraduate level. Nomination of one's own institution or program is permitted and encouraged.

Most Recent Award: 2023

The AMS is pleased to recognize the Math Bridge to Doctorate Program at the University of Texas, Arlington (UTA) Mathematics Department with the 2023 Mathematics Programs That Make a Difference Award. The University of Texas-Arlington Math Bridge-to-Doctorate program is a year-long program that focuses on critical transitions from undergraduate to doctoral studies, that serves URM and underserved students from HBCUs and HSIs and supports the Gulf States Math Alliance. This program makes a difference in increasing URM doctorate students in mathematical sciences.

Award announcement as seen in the news release.

See previous winners

Next Award:  2024

Nomination Period:  February 1- May 31

Nomination Procedure: 

The letter of nomination should describe the specific program being nominated and the achievements that make the program an outstanding success. It should include clear and current evidence of that success. A strong nomination typically includes a description of the program's activities and goals, a brief history of the program, evidence of its effectiveness, and statements from participants about its impact. The letter of nomination should not exceed two pages, with supporting documentation not to exceed three more pages. Up to three supporting letters may be included in addition to these five pages. Nomination of the writer's own institution or program is permitted. Non-winning nominations will automatically be reconsidered for the award for the next two years.


Nominate a Program