Chevalley Prize in Lie Theory

Claude Chevalley

Photo Courtesy of Archives de l'Académie des Sciences - Institut de France

The Chevalley Prize is awarded for notable work in Lie Theory published during the preceding six years; a recipient should be at most twenty-five years past the Ph.D.

Prize Details:
The current prize amount is \$8000, awarded in even-numbered years, without restriction on society membership, citizenship, or venue of publication.

Next Prize: January 2020

Nomination Period: 1 March – 30 June, 2019

Nomination Procedure: Submit a letter of nomination, complete bibliographic citations for the work being nominated, and a brief citation that might be used in the event that the nomination is successful.

Nominate a colleague

Most Recent Prize: 2018 – Dennis Gaitsgory received the 2018 Chevalley Prize for his work on the geometric Langlands program, especially his fundamental contributions to the categorical Langlands conjecture and its extension in his recent work with Dima Arinkin. Gaitsgory is largely responsible for having created a systematic theory from what had been a collection of provocative ideas and insights.

About this Prize: The Chevalley Prize was established in 2014 by George Lusztig to honor Claude Chevalley (1909-1984). Chevalley was a founding member of the Bourbaki group. He made fundamental contributions to class field theory, algebraic geometry, and group theory. His three-volume treatise on Lie groups served as standard reference for many decades. His classification of semisimple groups over an arbitrary algebraically closed field provides a link between Lie's theory of continuous groups and the theory of finite groups, to the enormous enrichment of both subjects.

See previous prizes

American Mathematical Society