Albert Leon Whiteman Memorial Prize

Photo courtesy of Mrs. Sally Whiteman.

The Whiteman Prize recognizes notable exposition and exceptional scholarship in the history of mathematics.

About this Prize

This prize was established in 1998 using funds donated by Mrs. Sally Whiteman in memory of her husband, Albert Leon Whiteman.

The US$5,000 prize is awarded every three years.

Most Recent Prize: 2018

2018 - Karen Parshall was awarded the 2018 Whiteman Prize for her outstanding work in the history of mathematics, and in particular, for her work on the evolution of mathematics in the USA and on the history of algebra, as well as for her substantial contribution to the international life of her discipline through students, editorial work, and conferences.

Prize announcement as seen in Notices of the AMS and in the news release.

See previous winners

Next Prize:  January 2021

Nomination Period:  1 March - 30 June 2020

Nomination Procedure:  Include a short description of the work that is the basis of the nomination, including complete bibliographic citations. A curriculum vitae should be included.

Nominate a colleague