Ciprian Foias Prize in Operator Theory

AMS Prizes, Awards, and Fellowships
Photo courtesy of Texas A & M University
The Ciprian Foias Prize in Operator Theory is awarded for notable work in Operator Theory published during the preceding six years. The work must be published in a recognized, peer-reviewed venue.

About this Prize

This prize was established in 2020 in memory of Ciprian Foias (1933-2020) by colleagues and friends. He was an influential scholar in operator theory and fluid mechanics, a generous mentor, and an enthusiastic advocate of the mathematical community.

The current prize amount is US$5,000, and the prize is awarded every three years.

Next Prize:  January 2024

Nomination Period:  1 March- 30 June

Nomination Procedure:  Nominations require CV of the nominee, a letter of nomination, and a citation.

Nominate a Colleague